We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business lunch”

Il Davide Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 233 Restaurants in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd and 4th
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for business lunch”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently was treated to a business lunch at Il Davide and found both the service and food outstanding. The small room at the back of the main dining room was perfect for our group of 15 to dine and meet. Service was attentive but not disruptive as we talked. We had a pre-arrranged menu, with options that was suitable for all our tastes. I was also pleased to see that they now have another banquet room for larger meeting/group spaces. Food is so outstanding that it is a great place for lunch!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    55
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious surprise!!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Four of us fell into the restaurant just by chance.... We LOVED it! Such a delicious surprise! It started with a special glass of prosecco and ended with "crazy delicious" butterscotch dessert... Thank you Il Davide!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefani37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch special”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

They've revamped the menu and their lunch special is a bargain. The food is delicious and the service is always good. I work nearby and this place is a favorite of my boss too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank climbergirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Il Davide is back!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I were frequent diners at Il Davide for years. Then for a while, the food became inconsistent, our regular friendly servers left, and the place in general seems to die out and lose it's "happening vibe." So... we stopped going. Recently, we thought we would give it another try after a 5 year respite. We were thrilled! The place was busy again, the service was efficient and very friendly, and the food was great. I had the old "diablo" angel hair pasta, one of my oldtime favorites. I was pleased to see my old standby back on the menu and tasting great again. My husband had a chicken dish that he really enjoyed. While the place could use some overall sprucing up (maybe some new paint and a little facelift?), the atmosphere was fine and we enjoyed ourselves. So did all the folks around us. AND--- it's not frozen like a meat locker in there! Perfect temperature to make you feel comfortable while you enjoy a good meal with a glass of wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norty520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Classic Italian Restaurant in San Rafael”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Il Davide is a fine northern Italian restaurant, perhaps the best in San Rafael. We were able to get reservations on a Friday at the last moment. The food was well prepared, if a little too buttery for our tastes. The staff was very friendly and attentive

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Davide Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Il Davide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing