We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special surprise”
Review of Whipper Snapper

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Whipper Snapper
Ranked #49 of 232 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A special surprise”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We discovered this Whipper Snapper by finding a parking place on the edge of town and walking toward what was open. Inside we were immediately welcomed by someone who felt like a good friend and then seated next to a guitarist by the front window. The menu was varied, creative, inexpensive and served promptly. Our waiter and the server also felt like friends, or friends of our kids. The warmth, live music, fantastic decor and great service left us quite happy with our chance encounter. We will be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mahadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, decent price”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Ate here for the second time. It got fairly full quickly, but the service was still very good. The seafood was excellent, though the calamari was a little chewy. However, our meals were both well seasoned and reasonably priced for the quality. Everything we saw come out of the kitchen looked really good. The menu seems a little limited, but it seemed varied enough for us to find something to fit our mood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
“Disappointing to say the least”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

San Rafael has many fine dining opportunities, but thought we would try a new one. Not good from the get go. Friday, and no calamari, no chicken wings, then....no sauvignon blanc. Not a good start. Food was adequate, nothing special and overpriced for what it was. Service barely acceptable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This low profile restaurant in a nondescript part of San Rafael is a real "find." Casual indoor and outdoor seating and friendly service make the overall dining experience very inviting. But it's the food that makes it special. Great fish tacos, jerk chicken, ceviche and other tempting offerings make the menu choice very difficult. Not a special occasion spot, but definitely worth a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearsoninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You gotta eat here!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've known about the Whipper Snapper since it opened in 2008, but never went here. But after having dinner here a week ago, I'm like "dude, why'd you wait so long?" Much better than expected, and huge portions, too. I had the slow-roasted pork special and my wife had the pasta special, and both were outstanding - full of flavor with just the right balance of spices, and great sides. And though we were stuffed I just had to try the bread pudding; again, a superior offering.

I talked with the chef/owner on the way out, and complimented him on his excellent culinary skills. We will be back, and it definitely will be sooner than five years.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bartolri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whipper Snapper also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Whipper Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing