We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza”

Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante
Ranked #26 of 229 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Willow
Description: Gaspare's Pizza House & Italian Restaurant in San Francisco first opened in 1985. Our second location Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante Bar in San Rafael opened in 2007. It is owned and operated by Daniel, Gaspare and Robin. It’s the best pizza in the Bay Area! We serve home style Italian cooking in a romantic setting at very reasonable price! Besides the best pizza, we are serving a variety of pasta dishes, veal, chicken, seafood, vegetarian dishes, gluten free choices and more. Last but not least, we are proud to serve the best homemade cheesecake this side of New York. The entire menu can be prepared to go for pick-up or delivery!
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I took my family here on a business/vacation trip, and stayed nearby. We chose this restaurant based upon the prior reviews in TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The pizza was great, fresh, with lots of goodies on it. The sauce was really wonderful. It was a little loud being next to the bar with a game on, but it was still fine.

I would definitely come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66roadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You're not in SF anymore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food is great, just like their San Francisco location. One big difference is they have a full liquor license here and multiple tv screens showing all of sporting matches. It's a different atmosphere here that seems to work. To be honest, I love the San Francisco location more. The kitsch is part of the allure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little neighborhood restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I have just started going to this restaurant and really enjoy it. While the bar is a little small, if you get a bar spot it's a great place to eat your dinner and enjoy a drink. The bartenders and servers are always really friendly and helpful. Honestly some of the best service I've seen in a long time. Thank you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BWPIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cozy Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

It's a "pizza" restaurant but one can have regular Italian fare.
The seafood ravioli are outstanding, lots of filling and a delicious sauce with small scrimp.
Pizza's are great also !
Don't miss the tiramisu for a perfect ending.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
593 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“YOU MUST TRY THEIR PASTA AND DESSERT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The food here was amazing. I went here on business and we ate in the bar area at a table. Service was excellent and portions were huge. Everything was made fresh to order. I ordered their green salad which came out with roasted beets and this fabulous dressing. Very fresh. For dinner I tried the Veal Scallopene with ravioli. The veal had a flavorful red sauce and the ravioli had a pesto cream sauce which was recommended by the waiter. Unbelievably good! I tried my coworkers gnocchi dish which l would also recommend. For dessert the waiter split it to give us s sampling of their tiramasu, almond cheese cake and Italian ice cream. Excellent! I have ate at a lot of Italian restaurants and this one rates excellent. Also many people ordered the fresh pizza which looked very good. Going to try that next time I'm in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante also viewed

 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing