We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow dinner”

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Order Online
Ranked #51 of 265 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place seems ready for new management. We arrived at 5:10 PM and we told the wait was 20 minutes because they were waiting for the next shift to come on. This should have our clue to leave immediately. there were lots of empty tables so we decided it was worth the wait. After 30 minutes we finally were seated. We did not see out waiter for 10 minutes who took our drink order and disappeared. 10 minutes later the drinks arrived incomplete and incorrect. Another 10 minutes and everything was fixed. Food was ordered and arrived in about 30 minutes. Two orders were not right and we waited and waited fo ten waiter to check in. No idea how long it took to fix the two meals but the other couple was almost done by the time everything was right. The waiter again went AWOL. Finally, we got up to chase down the waiter and and pay the bill. We left at 7:50. We ordered salads and burgers. No way that should take three hours. NEVER GOING BACK!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 453reedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a Happy Hour priced hamburger which was half of regular price. Served with french fries. Had an attentive server, Jarod. Noisy and busy in the bar area.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kstheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

The restaurant is not your typical sports bar fare but they do that as well. We had a group of 16 and the service was very good and timely. The food is a mix of bar food and then steaks and salads as well. The menu is large. There are TV's every where if you are there to watch a game. The deserts were large and very good. The strawberry beignets was soo good.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bmwdiscman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Coming here on a Friday night can be risky enough, but forgetting it is the Friday night of a Golden State Warrior play-off game and I wasn't sure what I had gotten us into! The place was packed, the atmosphere hot (literally! More A/C please . . . ) and the wait was about 20 minutes, but it had been a long day and we didn't feel like heading elsewhere as it was already about 8:15pm. So we waited, and before it seemed longer than it was, we were shown a nice booth (we love the booths!) and drinks were ordered as we perused the menu. A few new menu items told us we needed a little extra time. The drinks were delayed a bit due to a "computer issue" but when they arrived, oh myyyyy! We had ordered a Strawberry Splash, a Very Berry Margarita and a Raspberry Lemon Drop martini. We had time to enjoy them a little before ordering food, and they were not lite on alcohol! For food, we pretty much grazed our way through dinner. We ordered a flatbread pizza, crispy zucchini strings with lemon garlic aioli (new!), bone-in wings with BJ’s Peppered BBQ sauce, honey sriracha Brussels sprouts, crispy fried artichokes and a small wedge salad, hold the bacon. All were brought at once (except salad, the only "designated appetizer"!), which was amazing in itself on a night as busy as this one. The service was good and consistent throughout the meal, with needs quickly met and water refills as needed without long waits. The foods were some of our favorites, so no unexpected issues, and the zucchini strings were interesting as the dipping sauce and thin noodles presented a problem of how to dip. I went old school and used a fork, pretending they were spaghetti (some were quite long in length) and it worked well to twirl them up and dip. Toward the end of the dish I dipped sauce first, then kind of stuck the fragments to the forked sauce. Not elegant, and I'm open to other ideas, but it got the job done. The only other issue was the Brussels sprouts, one of my favorites. This time there was no sauce drizzled on top (menu pic style) and just a thin layer on bottom of dish under quite a few sprouts. I could of asked for sauce on side, but just moved them around to use the bottom layer of sauce, but not easiest way. Apparently a preference of one of the chef's to sauce on the bottom (I didn't even see that sauce until I ate a few of the sprouts and exposed the bottom). All in all, a very nice meal - good food, very good drinks, and excellent service. Don't always find that at BJs, including this location, but there it is!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mister-Markie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJs_Restaurants, Guest Relations Manager at BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience. We are so happy you had a great time and enjoyed our service. We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

We arrived around 8:00 on a Monday evening. Looking around there were plenty of empty tables, but were told it would be about a 15 minute wait. No problem, we waited. Once we got to our table we waited a while for our server to show up. Once Chris came to our table, he was friendly and joked with us and we thought we would have great service. Nope, his friendly greeting was where our good service ended. All 5 of us ordered a drink from the bar, along with chips and salsa. Our drinks arrived but not our appetizer. We waited, then waited some more. Couldn't find Chris anywhere, so we asked another server. Then we waited some more. Finally spotted Chris and had to stop him and ask where it was. About 5 minutes later we finally got our appetizer of chips and salsa (isn't it just dumping some salsa into a bowl and grabbing a handful of chips...the portions are not equally served. We had a ton of salsa left but no chips). Onto our food order. My son in law ordered a ribeye but was served a sirloin. We told the server is was the wrong order and he took the meal and said he would have the correct one made. The rest of us were finished with our meals before the correct meal came out. We had to stop someone (not Chris because we couldn't find him) and ask where it was. We all had to finish our meals without drinks (they were empty shortly after our appetizer was delivered). We were waiting for the bill to be delivered to our table when a different server came out and said Chris went on break and he would be taking care of us. Well, we were charged for 6 meals. Instead of taking the wrong steak off of our bill, they just added the replacement meal. We tried explaining what was wrong with the bill to our replacement server, but he just couldn't figure it out. We asked to talk to the manager and were told she was his age and she was to stressed out to come talk to us?? If the manager is a young girl that can't handle the stress, maybe they should consider getting a new manager before she runs this one into the ground.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJs_Restaurants, Guest Relations Manager at BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Dear Kimberly,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We are never too stressed to come talk to any of our guests and we are sorry for that communication. We certainly would like to hear more about this and make your next visit at our standard. Please give the restaurant a call at your earliest convenience.

(415)755-6250

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing