We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love to get take out”

Royal Thai Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 230 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“love to get take out”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is good Thai food. It is reliable and clean and exotic and delicious and sure, I burn my tongue sometimes because I am a Thai food newbie, but I love the flavors. We usually get take out. The building is adorable but I always feel a little uncomfortable in the parking underneath the freeway. The food is great! Try it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoughtonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Contrarian Viewpoint”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have lived in central Marin for 20 years, and during that all that time Royal Thai always had the reputation as the best Thai in the county. We had never eaten there, however, as we were devotees of Orchid Thai in San Anselmo. Orchid is now closed, and we were seeking a new favorite, so gave Royal a try. We won't be back. On arrival, we waited a bit to be seated, and were then ignored completely (no menus, no water, no acknowledgment of our existence) for about 15 - 20 minutes. Once having ordered, our starters came out reasonably promptly, but it was literally a 50 minute wait from the time we finished the appetizers before our main dishes arrived--without a single check-in from our waitperson. In the end, I do have to say the food was pretty good, but the entire experience was a 2 hour descent into hell. I would normally give the restaurant a break for having a bad night, but I noticed on Yelp that this type of experience has been all too common in the last six months.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb food - but it takes time...”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are after outstanding cooking, wonderful flavors, an extensive menu, do go to Royal Thai.
It is located right next to the freeway underpass, yet noise is not an issue here. But it is not for a quick bite. The place is busy, and you have to be patient, but it is worth the wait!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandpa284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai to Dai For”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great Thai food. At another level really of imagination and execution.

Try the Eggplant stuffed with Chicken. Yow!

Reasonable $15 corkage makes this a 1st Place Winner.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank wk542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming local favorite does a good job with a big menu”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I, my wife, my sister and her husband are all big fans of this charming and reliable Thai restaurant. We order fearlessly from a long menu, despite a well-earned reputation on my part for picking favorite dishes and sticking with them. The kitchen has never messed up on our "no peanuts" stipulation, and the service in the tight-packed rooms is attentive.

The ornate wood paneling and traditional Thai touches give the restaurant a nice, warm feel. Some tables are great for dates, others feel less private. I've never bothered with a reservation, and usually have to wait 5-10 minutes for a table.

We've sampled the specials on almost every trip, and found them to be welcome additions to the consistent menu. The wine selections are hit-and-miss, the only thing I would say detracts from the experience. The prices are quite reasonable. For traditional Thai food in southern Marin county, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnsonInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Royal Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing