We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always satisfies; never disappoints”

La Strada Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in San Pablo
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
El Cerrito, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always satisfies; never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Well-prepared, simple and tasty Italian food. Some of the best calamari anywhere. All entrees include choice of soup (home-made minestrone or special of the day) or salad (very basic, but adequate). Really enjoy their linguine tutte mari. And THE best tiramisu! Not fancy food, but dependable. And wonderful staff, especially Ginger, one of our favorite wait persons. Everyone makes you feel welcome and special. Hostess last night, Dominique, was delightfully engaging and actively involved. We always leave feeling glad we had come.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Every time I am in the East Bay I have dinner with my family at La Strada. They have a very nice menu, and the service is always warm and welcoming. The Carpaccio -thinly sliced cured beef, capers, extra virgin olive oil, pecorino cheese and arugula is spectacular. I love the Cannelloni stuffed with veal, ricotta cheese and spinach in a pink sauce topped with mozzarella. The polenta is the best I have ever tasted - it's smooth and creamy almost like mashed potatoes with a beautiful corn flavor. Last time I was in California we went to La Strada for one meal every day for the entire visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was wonderful home comfort food. The quality was amazing and there was something for everybody, from my 3 yo to my sister the Chef. It was a really great meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hbhmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

First this is not a handicap accessible restaurant. The restrooms are appalling for disabled guests. We had a party of 18 for a Christmas dinner. The special; salmon piccata tasted like a salt lick. The other special chicken and mushroom risotto had gritty mushrooms in it. The Napa/American Canyon location is a much better choice. This place should be closed!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdsportmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hr1487
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The ambiance and the food, to me, were fantastic. I had the veal with steamed veggies and polenta. I will say that I won't eat polenta again....really just reminded me of Cream of Wheat. But the salads, bread, and main dish were very, very good. The veal was cooked perfectly. My travel companion said his chicken was "rubbery" though. Service was prompt and attentive with ALL staff taking care of refills, dishes, etc. Our waitress was very knowledgable and quick/eager to make recommendations. I doubt I'll ever find myself in San Pablo again but if I do I'd definately consider La Strada again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hr1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Strada Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Strada Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing