We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice history tour”

Mission San Miguel Arcangel
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in San Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mission was founded among the Salinas Indians, who inhabited the area in the 1700's.
Paso Robles, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice history tour”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We paid the $2.00 and took the self guided tour. It was pretty interesting and the facility itself is really pretty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    41
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Mission”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you like to visit Missions you will enjoy this one. However, it is nothing special if you have seen several missions. I have been to all the missions, and Santa Barbara Mission is the best, this one is average.

Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It may not be the most popular mission, but we loved it”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I agree with everything the 2/24/12 reviewer said. Some of the other missions we saw were beautiful, but restored to the point where you didn't feel they retained the original authenticity. This mission had the most beautiful walls and altar. The paint on the walls is in need of some restoration, but while I was inside I felt like I stepped back in time. If you are in the area I recommend visiting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Historic and restored”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Beautiful mission newly restored sanctuary. Very historic and easy to access located in downtown San Miguel.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank beaken66213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spiritual heritage”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

While traveling the trail of missions through California can allow one to imagine how it was that men of faith and vision traveled across a new land and brought a great gift to the people here. I personally am thankful for the work of the padres ( and no they did not do it perfectly) and love finding the bits of California History that are ensconced in and on the mission walls.
It was not always the easy life in California, and for many it is not now. We could use more turning to God and prayer, and this mission may be a place to do that. God bless you for reading.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank vikingfuneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Miguel Arcangel also viewed

San Miguel, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
San Miguel, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Mission San Miguel Arcangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing