We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So yummy, we ordered to-go for our dinner.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nini's Coffee Shop

Nini's Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 14 Coffee & Tea in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
286 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“So yummy, we ordered to-go for our dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in San Mateo for one evening, and decided to swing by this cute place for lunch based on reviews. As mentioned, this place was delish and just as cute as can be. We all three loved our breakfast so much we ordered take out prior to leaving for our dinner that same day.
We sat out on the patio which was decorated with so many talking points and a few decorations we needed to take our pictures with.
Anytime I'm near San Fran-I'll be swinging by Ninis!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    81
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute, Fun little Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent some time with my cousin in San Mateo. She highly recommended this place so one morning we checked it out. The diner was a fun atmosphere. Very busy, so stop by early. The food was great as well. I had the Chicken Apple Sausage Scramble. Definitely worth the try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite Bay Area place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We always try to make sure we visit Nini's every time we get out to the Bay area. Be sure to ask for a table in the open courtyard in the back. Great food and friendly service. Breakfast is wonderful and the choices are plentiful. A little hard to find and parking can be a challenge, but it is always worth the trouble. They even have fresh coffee while you wait for your table. Make the trip and I promise you will love Nini's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calef71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun quaint place - very retro.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate here our last morning in San Mateo, and glad we did. The food was good, the service was great, and it was nostalgic - reminding us of simpler times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We came upon this place by accident, but being lost was our good fortune! This is what a geniune diner should be like. The service was great, and the food was outstanding! And the portions were monumental! If you are ever around the San Francisco airport, I would highly recommend looking up Nini's, it is a treasure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Willy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nini's Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Nini's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing