We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of best Residence Inns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of best Residence Inns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Residence Inn in San Mateo on Winward is in a residential area of San Mateo near the Target shopping center. The units are 4 to a building and quite roomy. Our queen and sofa bed unit had a fireplace, sliding door to a patio and full kitchen with a full oven.

The unit was nicely furnished and clean. The bathroom has not been updated to have a granite counter. Our only ding is for the lack of noise insulation as we could hear too well the guests upstairs who weren't deliberately noisy.

The breakfast was the best at any Residence Inn with a lot of food made from scratch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to take this opportunity to THANK YOU for taking your valuable time to complete a review about your visit to our Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport / San Mateo.

I’m glad the room and property were up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    75
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
54
32
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I selected the Residence Inn so that I was close to the airport for an early flight. The hotel has the typical garden layout. I arrived in the evening and was given a room on the 1st floor. However, I didn't feel comfortable as a female staying alone on the first floor with a glass door to the studio bedroom.

The manager responded to my concerns immediately and moved me to the second floor.

On a positive note, the unit was pretty spacious and had been updated recently! They offered a nice welcome gift on check-in. It was pretty easy to get to the airport from this hotel.

Room Tip: Females staying alone should request a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getpacked77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to THANK YOU for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo. I’m glad the room was up to your expectations and that our location made it easy to make it to the airport.

I appreciate your comment in regards to safety and preferring a room on a second floor. I will advice my frond desk staff that if they check in a female traveling by her self to recommend a second floor.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you in a near future!

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on business in late February 2013 for a week.

My first impression was mixed - Due to limited availability, I had massive room that included a small kitchen (full size fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher, utensils, etc...), living room, dining room, bathroom and an upper floor with a bedroom and bathroom. I immediately loved the layout and it seemed perfect for a long-term stay. Unfortunately, there was a musty/smokey smell to the place despite it being a non-smoking room. The smell wasn't noticeable after a while, but it really turned me off the room each day I came back.

The staff were all excellent and extremely friendly.

I loved having the kitchen while I was staying there and found that they provided almost everything I needed in terms of plates, cutlery, pans, etc..

The room featured two large screen flat-panel televisions that worked well. The furniture wasn't very comfortable, but there was a small couch and a large chair in the living room.

The bed and shower were fine. A step below the quality I've found in nicer hotels, but I have no complaints.

The room also had free WiFi. Unfortunately, it was quite slow. I would have preferred the option to pay for internet access that was a decent speed.

I would stay here again if I could get a better price on the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to THANK YOU for taking the time to post a review about your experience in our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo. This helps us to be better service our guest and improve our facility.

I will share the comments with my staff as they take pride in the job they do. Once again THANK YOU for your review and hope to see you in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
425 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business . Great location . Cheaper than the Marriott , nicer than other local chains and gives you a suite ., bedroom , bathroom , kitchen and small living room .

Small villa setup . Good breakfast .

Certainly would recommend .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to THANK YOU for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo.

I am very glad that you like our location and amenities that we offer. I will share your comments with our staff to keep them motivated as they take pride in the job they do.

THANK YOU again, we appreciate your business and hope to see you in a near future.

Best regards,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed in Residence Inn straight for 6 months. This is one of the better hotels in the neighborhood. The staff is courteous and very proffessional. I was impressed with everyone especially Jose Garcia, Andrea Hebrio, Jacquiline Ocasio, James and Brittany. The support staff is prompt and well mannered.
The place is very close to places like Target, Safeway, Marshall and CVS.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommand this hotel for any long term traveler.

Room Tip: Pick a room which is on the upper deck for privacy. Also stay away from basketball court which can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to THANK YOU for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo.

The team and I appreciate your valuable comments as we take pride in the job we do. We know you have many options when it comes to hotels and we appreciate you selecting ours.

Thank you again and hope to see you in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I and my team stayed here for over 2 weeks last year. It is very good hotel with great rooms, nice service and friendly staff. The kitchen is fully equipped and the room amenities are good for a long stay as well. The breakfast options are a little limited, but they make up for the same with the evening snacks.

The staff is extremely helpful and always ready to serve you better. The location is good as there are shopping malls and restaurants close by. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redds_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to THANK YOU for taking the time to complete this review regarding your and your team stay at our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo.

We are glad that our facilities were able to accommodate your needs. I will share your nice comments with our staff as they take pride on the job they do.

Thank you again and hope to see you in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room is spacious with a large well equipped kitchen for being a hotel. The only bad thing about our room was that it had a large gap around the seal of the door so the sitting area was very cold.
I left a brand new pair of boots still, in the box, at the hotel in our room. I called the hotel to ask if housekeeping picked them up, and to my surprise they had them and were very happy to mail them to my home. Good to know that the staff if very upstanding and honest! When back to visit my relatives in San Mateo this will definitely be my choice hotel! Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding our stay at our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo.

I’m glad our facility was up to your expectations and that your boots made it home.

I will share this comment with our staff as they take their job very seriously and work hard to ensure every single guest has a great stay at our hotel.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.0 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
0.8 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#6 of 12 in San Mateo
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Property: Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Address: 2000 Winward Way, San Mateo, CA 94404
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#5 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysBook your 2012 US Open stay at our newly Renovated Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport/ San Mateo hotel located 8.6 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and 20 miles from the tournament! Spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, and free high-speed Internet access provide guests the perfect extended stay accommodations. Join us for a complimentary breakfast buffet and light dinner Mon-Thurs evenings in our Gatehouse. Bridgepointe and Hillsdale Shopping Centers conveniently located to our hotel. Hotel is near many excellent golf courses including Mariners Point and Poplar Creek. Fun is found at attractions Malibu Grand Pix Go-Kart & Golf, San Mateo Expo Center, Coyote Point Recreational Area and San Francisco's major league sports events at Candlestick and AT&T Park. After all this excitement relax in the pool, spa and Sport Court at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport San Mateo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Residence Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing