We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the process of a remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip, the rooms were updated with all the modern necessities and kept clean. The hotel was undergoing a renovation when I was there so it wasn't exactly in pristine condition but that was to be expected. Disposable drinking cups assured me I would not be the victim of a rinse and dry cleaning of glassware by housekeeping so that was a plus, the only reason I give it 4 stars out of 5 is the beds were very stiff, so not that great in that department. Otherwise the location is great and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 630 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I stay at the Hilton Garden Inn quite frequently when I travel for business. This hotel never disappoints. The staff is phenomenal, and the renovations they've made look great! The hotel is in walking distance from restaurants, shopping, and several companies which makes this the perfect hotel while traveling for business and pleasure.

A really cool new edition is the fact that you can text anything, anytime, anywhere to the hotel staff and they are super responsive. This is so neat and convenient.

I'll definitely continue to be a repeat patron.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank alloure2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear alloure2001,

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I'm glad you like our new and improved look and our texting system. Our rooms should be completely finished by mid July. In addition to a complete remodel we have changed many of our king bedded rooms to double queens to better accommodate our weekend travelers coming with families.

Our texting system has also been a very popular addition this year. You can text the hotel front desk at 650-276-0672 with questions, comments, requests, etc. 24/7 for those who prefer to communicate via text.

Thanks again for the comments.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager
(650)356-6107

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I booked a taxi the time I checked in for next day's interview and it arrived 10 minutes late from the scheduled time. Please don't promise so well if the taxi couldn't arrive on time. Also I am still waiting for the hotel receipt to be emailed to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Yihan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Yihan J,

Thanks for your feedback. I will discuss your issue with the taxi companies we use. We monitor them to make sure they provide excellent service to our guests. They are normally pretty good about giving accurate pickup times but are sometimes delayed with traffic. I apologize if this added stress to an already stressful situation of interviewing for a new job.

I have emailed you another copy of your bill.

Please contact me directly if I can do anything else for you.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager
(650)356-6107
Derek.Hudson@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo for over 10 times in the past couple years. I have never been disappointed. The accommodations are great but even better is the staff which aim to and do provide the best of services. The staff's friendliness, helpfulness, and general demeanor, make an already great hotel even better. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The "makeover" in progress has greatly enhanced this facility. The staff makes a concerted effort to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The overall stay was a vast improvement over our last stay here 2 years ago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank F2564YKjamesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Buyer beware major construction going on at this hotel. If you need to do any work in your room 8:30am - 5pm its not going to happen. Hilton did not provide any disclaimers of the construction during or after purchase. Call the hotel see if they are done with the construction before staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Charlie H,
I'm sorry you missed the notice on our website and the email sent to you regarding renovation. We have attempted to notify our guests of the ongoing renovation so you aren't surprised when you arrive. We don't want you to be unhappy with your experience. Please consider staying with us again in the future when everything is new.

Renovation should be complete in July. The lobby is nearly complete and we are working on our last section of guest rooms. Refer to our website or call us for current renovation conditions. I will remove the notice from our website when renovation is complete next month.
Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
derek.hudson@hilton.com
(650) 356-6107

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you like a good breakfast with properly cooked oatmeal and optional custom-ordered omelettes, this is the place! I tried this hotel and the Hampton Inn in Burlingame. The latter had nicer beds, but terrible breakfast with over-use of styrofoam and plastic utensils, and no orderable omelettes, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thanks Tom T for the breakfast compliments!

The room you stayed in was not renovated. All our rooms with 2 beds are getting new mattresses and are being upgraded to two queens.

Thanks for the feedback.

Derek Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Mateo Foster City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Address: 2000 Bridgepointe Pkwy, San Mateo, CA 94404-1586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: $154 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing