We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack hammers, drilling floors and walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Buyer beware major construction going on at this hotel. If you need to do any work in your room 8:30am - 5pm its not going to happen. Hilton did not provide any disclaimers of the construction during or after purchase. Call the hotel see if they are done with the construction before staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Charlie H,
I'm sorry you missed the notice on our website and the email sent to you regarding renovation. We have attempted to notify our guests of the ongoing renovation so you aren't surprised when you arrive. We don't want you to be unhappy with your experience. Please consider staying with us again in the future when everything is new.

Renovation should be complete in July. The lobby is nearly complete and we are working on our last section of guest rooms. Refer to our website or call us for current renovation conditions. I will remove the notice from our website when renovation is complete next month.
Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
derek.hudson@hilton.com
(650) 356-6107

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 625 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you like a good breakfast with properly cooked oatmeal and optional custom-ordered omelettes, this is the place! I tried this hotel and the Hampton Inn in Burlingame. The latter had nicer beds, but terrible breakfast with over-use of styrofoam and plastic utensils, and no orderable omelettes, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thanks Tom T for the breakfast compliments!

The room you stayed in was not renovated. All our rooms with 2 beds are getting new mattresses and are being upgraded to two queens.

Thanks for the feedback.

Derek Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I booked this place knowing they were under construction and with exception of the bins and chaos outside I didn't even notice. Do you other travelers not read the disclaimers??? I booked months ago and it clearly stated they were doing renovations. Our room was all brand new. The staff is awesome and friendly and it's the only SFO area Hilton property that will let you leave your car for free for 21 days--most have a 7 or 10 day limit and then the per day fee kicks in. What a deal! If you want a completely remodeled place then pay more money and stay there but don't pick on this property because they were very transparent both on line and via signage onsite,

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BethAnnSH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear BethAnnSH123,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and for mentioning our Park & Fly package. When booking under this package we allow 30 days of free parking. Most other hotels offer a maximum of 10 days or less. We also offer complimentary SFO shuttle service from 6am-10pm daily. Why pay for airport parking when you can put that money toward starting your vacation a day early?

Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

nice hotel. I thought breakfast was a little pricey at 15.00 each but dinner was reasonable and the food was good. Walking distance/short drive to shopping center with several restaurants and shopping. Some construction going on but really did not bother us. I would use this hotel again. Stocked mini-fridge with snacks and drinks. There is one chair and one desk chair We would have preferred two chairs as we were there to visit family

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank 800perryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

One of worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Bed was hard. Walls in lobby were peeling. Staff was inadequate. $15 for breakfast!!! When I asked them to discount second night as I decided not to stay they refused. There was no manager to speak to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Rick F,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I have really attempted to inform all our guests about renovation prior to arrival so they can make an informed buying decision and be honest about the construction. If you book on our website we have a notice posted which appears two times during the booking process. This notice was posted 6 months ago. I have also informed all the major third party websites to post the notice on their sites too. Additionally, we email guests a couple of days prior to arrival to make sure they are aware of our renovation. I do show that an email was sent to you but perhaps it went to your spam folder? We really are not trying to hide that we are undergoing renovation to upgrade the hotel.

Our check out time is 12noon. This allows our housekeeping staff time to clean rooms for incoming guests to minimize wait times for those checking in starting at 3pm. I show that you checked out at 8:45pm Saturday night after having stayed the previous night. My staff is particularly lenient right now with renovation issues and would have gladly given you a later check out time like 1 or 2pm without charge. Your review fails to mention the lateness of your check out time and makes it seem as though we were being unreasonable. The front desk person did explain to you that we charge a half day rate until 6pm and a full night's charge after 6pm because we don't have housekeeping staff on duty that late to clean rooms.

Regardless, we do stand by what we sell which is a great hotel with excellent service. Since you were not completely satisfied we have adjusted off the second night charge. Please reconsider staying with us during future visits to San Mateo and thank you for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is in the final stages of renovation so make sure you ask if this is under construction before you choose to stay there.
Once it is done it will be a really great value. It is far from the airport but ideal if you are working with the biotech industry.

Room Tip: Wait until the construction is done to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

***Renovation Update***
The lobby is 90% done. Guest rooms will be finished in July. Any noisy work is going on between 8am-5pm. If you would like to get more detailed information then please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you for your patience while we make improvements to the hotel.

Derek Hudson
General Manager
(650) 356-6107
Derek.Hudson@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is relatively close to the San Mateo Event Center but it is oddly located in an industrial park. It was being renovated so it was a mess and and the renovation didn't look like it was going to help much. The pool was non-existent and the TV wouldn't change channels. We hung out with friends at their hotel in Half Moon Bay and were so disappointed we had to return to our underwhelming accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you could not find our pool. It has been open the entire time during our renovation. We keep the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi heated year round.

Please reconsider us the next time you come to San Mateo. You missed out on all the shopping that is walking distance from the hotel in our quiet location. We are also getting lots of positive comments about our new look. Contact me directly and I'll make sure your next stay is in one of our newly renovated rooms.

Derek Hudson
General Manager
(650) 356-6107
Derek.Hudson@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Address: 2000 Bridgepointe Pkwy, San Mateo, CA 94404-1586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#1 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: $155 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing