We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, United States
2 reviews
“Good service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

There was good room service and hotel staff was friendly and helpful (more so in person than over the phone). You can print from the business center. Oh and room service leaves towels in the shape of animals in your room. They are great! (No shuttle service except to and from airport though....)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tushmit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    196
    54
    20
    12
See reviews for
149
105
48
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

First they overcharged us $20. We had it corrected at check-out and have a Folio copy for the correct amount. We get home and see that they added over $6 more to the charge. Called and now will get a charge credit. No reason, no apology. I guess if most of their customers don't challenge them, they win. Also, the cleaning man threw away a toothbrush and toothpaste that was on the sink counter. Poor way to run a hotel!!!
Note to those who are bothered by noise, the air conditioner cycles on for 30 seconds, then off, then on, all night long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate you taking the time to give me this feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest services. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you had regarding the billing for your room. Our entire staff strives to provide our guests with the highest quality service, and we are truly sorry that this was not the case during your stay. I would love the opportunity to discuss these issues further with you so I can get you taken care of properly. Please call or email me directly so I can personally look into and resolve your issues.

Best Regards,

Derek Hudson
General Manager
(650) 356-6107
derek.hudson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Came here with the gf one night when we needed a place to crash for a few hours before we had to both get up for work. I pulled up into the Hilton, and was easily able to take my pick of parking spots. They have an extensive parking structure located behind and to the side of the hotel as well as ground floor parking in the front. Best of all, parking is free (unlike the Marriott)!

The pricing is rather expensive if you don't book ahead of time. But that was to be expected. I paid nearly $300 for a 2 queen bed room (only room they had left apparently) but was offered a discount since we were checking in at like 3am in the morning and was leaving in 6hrs.

They have a beautiful fountain in the lobby area, and the hotel floor itself is massive! I've been here in the past for conventions and it is easy to get lost in here. The hallways are clean and modern, and the rooms itself are warm and inviting. The beds are soft, though I miss the mints on the pillow. The room comes with your standard coffee/tea packets + coffeemaker, mini bar food (very pricey like all mini bar food), and flat screen TV.

There is plenty of shopping available nearby at the Bridgepointe Shopping Center with various dining establishments located within. Or if fast food is more your style, there are several fast food chains located in the opposite direction.

Overall I would recommend this place if you are looking for a place to stay near this area and are able to secure more affordable rates ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great place to stay. Very clean, restaurant food was wonderful and prices not too high. Room was excellent. Will definitely stay here again. Easy to park and they did not charge for parking. Easy to check in and out. The bed was very comfortable. Really enjoyed the whole stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very clean, big breakfast, very nice waiter, quiet room. Free parking, free internet. Well stocked pantry sale items. Good chef salad.
Shuttle service to and from airport.
Pool is very small and in odd public location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Reception gave us different room than what was reserved then tried to blame 3rd party booking (Travelocity or hotels.com, can't recall which) for the screw up. Denied they had the room then, miraculously, made it available but not until we went through all the motions of dragging luggage to room, discovering for ourselves and coming back down to get room changed. Courtesy of informing us at check-in would've been a little better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Not what we expected from Hilton brand. Positives: clean, friendly staff, quiet. We liked the location due to distance from the airport and some average shopping and restaurants; Negatives: outdated decor, just felt like too many people went throught there over the years; toilet out of order, small bathroom, overpriced. Breakfast should have been included for that price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
3.8 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Address: 2000 Bridgepointe Pkwy, San Mateo, CA 94404-1586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing