We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option when visiting The Bay Area ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1,070 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Great option when visiting The Bay Area ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here on a vacation about a week ago ... used it as my jumping point for our visit to San Francisco.

Pros: 1. Complimentary parking ... so if you arrive by car and know ppl in The Bay (I do) ... you can get into SF in about 30 minutes and park in a cheap day lot (we parked in the lot next to AT&T Park) for as low as $15 a day which is cheaper then the BART if are in a group.

2. Comfortable and lives up to the Hilton Garden Inn standard ... very clean.

3. Near the SFO Airport ... convenient for taking the BART into or out of SF as the ...

4. Complimentary Hotel Shuttle can take you to the Airport BART station and you can be in Downtown SF in a jiff.

5. Friendly and helpful service.


Really a very convenient hotel!!

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room ... there was no odor at all ... if possible request one away from the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank METRUN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    193
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
141
101
48
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pool was nice for the kids after a day sight seeing in Yosemite. Rooms were nice. Great storage for clothing, large closet in room, desk with comfortable chair in room, bedside chair also in room, two queen sized beds perfect for 2 adults and 2 children. No free breakfast. Had reasonable prices for dining area. Would definitely recommend. Within walking distance to a shopping area. We dined at Red Robin our last night in the area. There's much more within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Non smoking, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really enjoy staying at this property.Clean, and convenient to the San Mateo bridge and the 101. Laid out in kind of a maze, but well marked. Starbucks in the lobby and Keurig brewers in each room. I did not eat on premise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
270 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located 15 minutes from the San Fransisco airport and it is easy to find as well. It is located in one of the many shopping areas which makes it even better.
The check-in was super smooth and took less than 2 minutes and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are cozy and comfortable too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaysuhn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel was in the ideal location for my stay in San Mateo, and it meet or exceeded all the things I like in accomodations: cleanliness, comfort, attentive and friendly staff, food services, etc. However, my non-smoking accomodations reeked of tobacco, and people were smoking in that section of the hotel during my stay, which really downgraded the accomodations to pit level. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights over the 4th of July holiday. Excellent location for Foster City access. Excellent location for places to walk to. Loved that a lot of the amenities (such as parking, USA Today, WSJ, cookies) were free. Nice shopping area with Starbucks and a SuperTarget was within walking distance. Several choices of restaurants within walking distance. Friendly staff, excellent cleaning staff (loved the different animal shapes with towels and Andes mints waiting for us each day!;) just a very pleasant place to stay. Absolutely loved the exquisite floral arrangement in the lobby that greets you each day. The only negative was the trucks for Home Depot,so I would recommend asking to stay on the opposite side of the hotel, but it was just one or two around 8:30 am, so not a deal-breaker. The restaurant looked very good, ($14.95 for buffet, ala carte menu as well) but didn't partake as we had family in town. Very nice complimentary tea and coffee bar all day long. Good value for the money!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would recommend Hilton Garden Inn for not only their comfortable rooms but also for the extremely helpful staff. You could just throw any question at them and they are always ready to help. Having come from a distant continent, it was quite a pleasing experience with the well mannered and knowledgeable staff who helped getting around the city and the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ansuman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
5.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Address: 2000 Bridgepoint Circle, San Mateo, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#1 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing