We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located 15 minutes from the San Fransisco airport and it is easy to find as well. It is located in one of the many shopping areas which makes it even better.
The check-in was super smooth and took less than 2 minutes and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are cozy and comfortable too

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaysuhn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel was in the ideal location for my stay in San Mateo, and it meet or exceeded all the things I like in accomodations: cleanliness, comfort, attentive and friendly staff, food services, etc. However, my non-smoking accomodations reeked of tobacco, and people were smoking in that section of the hotel during my stay, which really downgraded the accomodations to pit level. Sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights over the 4th of July holiday. Excellent location for Foster City access. Excellent location for places to walk to. Loved that a lot of the amenities (such as parking, USA Today, WSJ, cookies) were free. Nice shopping area with Starbucks and a SuperTarget was within walking distance. Several choices of restaurants within walking distance. Friendly staff, excellent cleaning staff (loved the different animal shapes with towels and Andes mints waiting for us each day!;) just a very pleasant place to stay. Absolutely loved the exquisite floral arrangement in the lobby that greets you each day. The only negative was the trucks for Home Depot,so I would recommend asking to stay on the opposite side of the hotel, but it was just one or two around 8:30 am, so not a deal-breaker. The restaurant looked very good, ($14.95 for buffet, ala carte menu as well) but didn't partake as we had family in town. Very nice complimentary tea and coffee bar all day long. Good value for the money!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would recommend Hilton Garden Inn for not only their comfortable rooms but also for the extremely helpful staff. You could just throw any question at them and they are always ready to help. Having come from a distant continent, it was quite a pleasing experience with the well mannered and knowledgeable staff who helped getting around the city and the surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ansuman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staying at this hotel was a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms modern, clean and quiet. And the comfort of the bed was definitely what you'd expect at a Hilton Garden Inn. We had family join us in the hotel for drinks before heading out to dinner and invited them back for breakfast the following morning. I would highly recommend staying here when you're in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. But here goes:
1) Convenient location - just off the San Mateo/Hayward Bridge - about 20 minutes from San Francisco and 25 minutes from San Jose - made it a wonderful place to start off from for sightseeing. Walking distance to Panda Express, frozen yogurt shop, Target, BJ's, and Mimi's Cafe.
2) Superb staff - everyone from the girls at the front desk to housekeeping to the cook at the buffet went out of their way to make things perfect. They were helpful, friendly and genuinely concerned with making our stay the best experience we could have.
3) Clean - the room wasn't the fanciest, but it was CLEAN! And, I am someone who actually cleans the room when I get there (yes, watched too many 20/20 shows)!
4)Nice buffet - of course, not talking about a Las Vegas buffet, but it was good - made to order eggs, pancakes, waffles and also hash browns, sausage links, bacon available - a few danish and toast/bagels + sliced fruit, coffee/tea/juices. Normally $15 per person but we got the room rate with the breakfast included - definitely worth it to not have to get in the car and find a place for breakfast and it wouldn't have been as cheap.
5) Afternoon cookies - okay, everyone likes a little "treat" after a long day, be it business or vacationing - and there is complementary coffee/tea all day/night.
6) Business center - three great computers (nice big screens) + full service color printer/fax available
7) Gym - weights, treadmill
8) Pool - small, but good for laps

I have stayed at some 5 star resorts that didn't provide the high caliber of service and ammenities that this does. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: If traveling over 4th of July (or anytime fireworks are being set off for a holiday) - the park is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlnRoundUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A good business class hotel with great and helpful staff. However the shuttle services are quite late but definitely and good place to stay. The brkfst facility also really nice. I bet to stay once more at my next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Koresh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Address: 2000 Bridgepointe Pkwy, San Mateo, CA 94404-1586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#1 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: $166 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing