We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Nearby Hotels
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo(San Mateo)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Coyote Point Inn(San Mateo)(Great Value!)
$169
$147
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Prados Hotel(San Mateo)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveler rating
337
205
64
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
205
64
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome depotgreat hotelred robinfoster cityshopping and restaurantsbusiness tripwithin walking distancefitness centerbusiness centerlobby areastayed one nightbusiness travelerrooms are nicesfo airportdefinitely stay here againsilicon valleyfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 646 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed one night as we were catching s flight out of SFO in the morning. Clean and quiet room. Receptionists were warm and friendly. Free Starbucks coffee in the morning was nice, as were the chocolates as we checked in. We didn't do the breakfast which looked like it would have been a good deal. We went to Mimi's and had a nice breakfast. Price was about the same as having eaten at the hotel, but nicer atmosphere than the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was not too far from San Francisco International Airport where we were flying in from Long Beach, CA for our visit to San Francisco. The hotel was nice and clean. Staff were nice and professional and polite. Rooms were clean and spacious. I like the fact that the room had a microwave, refrigerator and a coffee maker and the bathroom had a hair dryer. It felt like home away from home. The hotel was conveniently located close to shops and restaurants. The area around the hotel felt safe and upscale. TV had HBO which was nice becasue we got to watch a nice movie every night after our tour of San Francisco. San Mateo was only 15 minutes drive to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 when traveling to the San Francisco area for a wedding. Our stay was so fantastic!

We don't stay in chain hotels often but the bride and groom had made special arrangements and negotiated a good price for wedding guests. Our experience was top-notch, starting from the person who took our phone reservation to everyone we came in contact with there.

The hotel staff completely spoiled us, not in a kiss-your-tush, fake, uncomfortable kind of way, but everyone was just very kind and considerate. We had an amazing breakfast and free Starbucks coffee every morning (plus coffee in our room, which I think was Wolfgang Puck). Wonderful omelet station plus lots of baked goodies, juices, bacon, can't recall what else but there was more. The toaster was rather slow but everything else was perfect.

Our room had a king-sized bed that was so comfortable. We were told you could adjust them but never even tried because we slept so well. I think the rooms must have pretty good soundproofing because I didn't hear anyone else the whole time we were there, except for one time when we heard people in the hall. We really appreciated the adorable towel animals and mints left in our room when they came in to pick up each day. The TV was nice, we had plenty of room, even when the ironing board was set up. It was also nice we could get a little fresh air instead of having to use the air conditioning.

The hotel staff was very helpful, whether it was responding to our request to find a party store, opening a bottle cap for us, or mailing postcards. I was able to use the computer in the office for guests to check us in for our flight and print out our boarding passes--no charge.

The lobby has a lovely fireplace and what looked like a patio area with an outdoor heater (yes San Francisco has cooler evenings). I saw there was also a small pool and I seem to recall a hot tub, although we never had a chance to use any of these.

We were about 15 minutes from San Francisco. I did see an airport shuttle but I would recommend renting a car; there are lots of day trips you can take if you do (along with San Francisco, you can go north to Muir Woods, Golden Gate Bridge, Sonoma Valley; or south to Big Sur, the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary, or inland southeast to artichoke fields and the Salinas Valley, if you're a Steinbeck fan). The nice thing is that the San Mateo traffic is a nice break from all the traffic if you drive to downtown San Francisco.

There was little I didn't like--I did wish I'd brought a small mirror since the lovely bathroom sink design made it hard to get a good close-up view when getting ready. I lost some change in the pop machine trying to get a bottle of water. But these are minor things that could apply to any place. Bottom line was we absolutely loved our stay and would love to go back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is a beauty a little off the beaten path for San Francisco lots to do in the area the concierge put us on to a great restaurant in Burlingame just down the road nice town lots of shops and Restaurants.We hopped on the Dart the rapid transit affordable way to get downtown SF good staff and good price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you can not find any hotel inSF city, than this one will be your choice. It's about 12 miles away from SF. Better if your are driving as you can get in out any time you wanted to.

Hotel room are clean and nice. No bottled water on the house, but offer free wifi, and coffee in room. Staff are friend and helpful, free shuttle bus to airport every hr. the bed are comfortable, and you are able to sleep very well as its very quiet.

There are no breakfast in my package, and breakfast cost 14 dollar each. Free parking, and ice machine in every floor.

Room Tip: Ask for smoking if your are smoker.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turhanwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews