We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and really helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and really helpful staff”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed 1 night at this hotel in June. We were given little chocolates at check-in, and found more on the bed in the room. The room was clean and welcoming, and the bed had a control on each side so you could make it as hard or soft as you personally like - I've never seen that before.

The people in the next room made quite a bit of noise shouting at each other and slaming doors from 11pm onwards - enough to wake us up. After 1 hour we called reception and the noised stopped in minutes, not to re-occur. I had read that walls could be thin here so I was not surrised. I was a little worried that nothng would be done, but not the case.

We spent the next day in San Fran and the hotel happily agreed to keep our luggage for us as we had a jeep where we could not hide and secure the cases. We picked it up (along with a large coffee) about 4pm on the way out of San Fran.

Lovely people and a great welcome to the US. This hotel offers free parking and a great buffet breakfast where we were introduced to Hazelnut Milk in the coffee - we are now huge fans :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EagerTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    195
    53
    20
    11
See reviews for
144
102
48
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

But one thing I'd have done differently when we stayed here in January 2012 is to get a room on a lower floor. In January, the room we had on the sixth floor was a bit chilly, even when we turned up the heat. Otherwise, not a thing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluerose345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is nice, comfortable, and clean. They have an airport shuttle but be aware, they are not an airport hotel. Without traffic, they are about 20 minutes from the airport. With traffic, try 30-45 minutes. Their airport shuttle is also not a 24 hour shuttle. You won't be able to catch a 6am or 7am flight using the shuttle. Somewhere I saw this hotel advertised as an airport hotel. I took a cab from the city to the airport thinking I was spending the night by the airport as I had a 6am flight. I waited 25 minutes for the airport shuttle and then took the 30 minute ride to the hotel. I was able to walk to a restaurant for dinner. Unfortunately, I then spent $45 on a cab ride back to the airport early the next morning. You also won't get breakfast that early....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
221 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I've had several experiences at a variety of Hilton Garden Inn locations and all of them have been great - San Mateo is no exception.

The rooms are spacious and functional. The staff is accommodating and friendly. The restaurant serves an excellent omelet in the morning and the business center and pantry (for miscellaneous accessories, snacks and beverages) is quite convenient.

Close to the San Mateo Event Center, this HGI is accessible, reasonably priced and overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I've found this property very typical of the Hilton Garden Inn chain -- comfortable room, good location, good hot breakfast options. I read another review that said the rooms were somewhat smaller than normal, but I didn't find that. I did find a towel animal (a turtle) on the bed in my room, when I checked in. That reminded me of a cruise I had been on last summer.

I only stayed one night, so I can't comment on the housekeeping service, other than to say my room was clean when I arrived at 3pm.

My only complaint is that the hotel had a lot of traffic in the lobby area, where the restauarant is located, due to Sunday morning meetings -- particularly what appeared to be a very popular church group. This made the breakfast area somewhat chaotic. The cook-to-order chef's kitchen area was not well-signed for areas to order and pick up food. I watched a couple people order out of turn, because they had formed lines on both sides of the counter, and a couple people pick up the wrong omlettes.

A strange thing with this hotel is that the elevator has floors numbered from 1-7, but there are only 6 floors. There was no floor numbered 4, for what reason we couldn't discern.

Room Tip: I had a room facing north-east towards the Bay, and it was wonderfully quiet (although it was bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
339 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a clean hotel with a friendly staff. I liked the towel animals with mints that were left in my room by housekeeping. I had a first floor room so the noise from happy hour in the lobby was a bit much on one evening. Also, agree with other reviewers that the cleaning service comes late. Had the same issue with returning to my room in the early afternoon to find it untouched. I had the front desk schedule the cleaning for later so that it didn't impact my schedule. As this is located in a business district, the restaurant choices in the area are mostly chains. I ordered room service one evening, and it came quickly.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. First floor rooms get the noise from happy hour in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thanks for the comments. I read them all and appreciate the feedback. I also post them for our staff to read. Our towel animals have been popular and seem to be some of the most photographed items in our hotel.

Our housekeepers clean rooms all day so sometimes a room may be cleaned at 9am and other days it may be in the afternoon. If you ever have a preference then let us know and we are happy to accommodate your needs. We regularly have guests notify us of a preference. Remember, we are here to take care of your needs. Without you we don't have jobs so don't be shy about letting us know.

Again, thanks for the comments. Feel free to contact me directly at anytime should you need assistance.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager
Email: Derek.Hudson@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stay here everytime we go visit our son and daughter-in-law. We like the breakfast. The service is awesome...Not fancy...But is is clean, quiet and the staff is great...What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be fine...Very comfortable....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
5.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Address: 2000 Bridgepointe Pkwy, San Mateo, CA 94404-1586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#1 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing