We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean, friendly and convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was exactly what we were looking for in a hotel. Friendly helpful staff, convenient location to our family in the area and easy to find. Free parking and Internet. Clean. We were very pleased with our choice. We searched online quite awhile for hotels in this area before booking. This hotel was clearly the best choice considering cost and services.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Lois P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us. We are very happy that you liked us and your stay was convenient and comfortable. Free parking and our hassle-free internet connection is liked by many of our guests like you. We will pass on your compliments to our dedicated staff who make every stay a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel soon.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 277 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very friendly and serviceminded staff. Clean sheets and free toiletries all the time, very comfortable beds. Very adequate breakfast for this pricelevel, but few tables in the reception where breakfast is served. Wifi workied well also on iphones/ipad. Refrigerator and microwaveoven in all rooms. Highly recommended, will stay there again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Tommy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Tommy V,

Thanks so much for taking the time out to write about us. We are glad that you liked our friendly service, we try our best to put a smile on every guests' face that walks into our door. Our hard working staff makes this possible everyday, reviews like your's appreciate their work and keep them motivated. Thank you. We will try to add more breakfast tables and make the lobby more spacious. We are happy you made the right choice, we look forward to seeing you again at hotel soon.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

When we walked in the lobby we were greeted by one of the friendliest staff. Trisha was very helpful and offered to print our boarding passes for us. It wasn't the best, but it was a place to stay with a reasonable price. Having restaurants nearby made our stay better. Nothing spectacular about the room. The building is old and in need renovation. The place was easy to find and central to what we wanted to do. Room had a small microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. We didnt bother with the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Sandy D,

Thanks for taking the time out to write about us. Trisha is one of our best Front Desk personnel, she makes sure that everything is okay for the guests' stay.

Many of our guests such as you like the fact that we are centrally located and there are several restaurants nearby. We appreciate your feedback, we will try to make our rooms more welcoming the next time you stay with us. Please enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast on your next visit to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

If you are expecting the hard floor floors and nicer bedding like pictured, it's not like that at all! I got old green carpet and an old mattress. The worst part is the water wasn't hot at all. Cold showers? No thank you! I stayed here because it was a last minutes work trip and I needed something in San Mateo. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oaminloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Oaminloo,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay. We apologize that your stay was dissatisfying. We appreciate your comments, so that we may improve our hotel in any way.

Our pictures are updated and our mattresses are newly put into each room for a comfortable stay. Also, our rooms have two available options: carpeted rooms and hardwood floor rooms.

We apologize that our water temperature was not satisfying. We have tested the temperature, and the water is now warmer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were at this hotel in may 2012 for a full week. It's about 20-25 minutes from downtown SFO in car.

We booked with Priceline and it might have get us into the worst room... I don't know... I saw someone's else room and it was way better than our.

The pictures of the rooms on their website is not accurate... our room has old carpet and was very small, compared to wood floor on pictures. Our bed was not a queen size bed, it was a double. Was not very comfortable.

The staff was very polite and helpfull, nothing to say about that.

The pool was closed for repair all week long. We never saw someone doing any repair... very disapointed by this! :-( The pool was one of the reason we chose that hotel...

Watch out with laundry room, there is only one washer and one dryer so, hope no one is there before you are!

Parking was always avalaible, wich is good.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking if you're not smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henri811004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Henri811004,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We apologize that you had found your stay unsatisfying and wish that next time you visit us will be a more satisfying trip.

The pictures of our rooms are updated pictures. We have two options at our hotel: carpeted rooms and hardwood floor rooms.

We apologize that you did not find our bed's satisfactory. We have put in new mattresses in each of the rooms very recently.

Our pool was unfortunately closed during your stay, and we apologize for that inconvenience. The pool is available now and open to all guests!

We hope that you are more comfortable at our hotel the next time you visit. Thanks again.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for the last year and one half, for two days a week, on my days off of my caregiver employment. I can attest for the honest, friendly, and professional staff of this hotel, and for the price, you will not find a finer spot. They have gone out of their way on more than one occasion to assist me in any way they could. This hotel is a real gem.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blissmiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Blissmiss1,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about us. We thank you for your kind words, we always try our best to serve all our guests the best way possible. We would love to see you again and make your stay as comfortable as your own home. Don't forget to stop by anytime you are in the town. We would love to see you even if it is just to say Hi.

Management
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Rooms are nicely updated with flat screen tvs and plantation shutters. Rooms include a coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator and are very clean. Only the heater/AC was old and a somewhat noisy. Breakfast was nothing fancy but perfectly adequate and the area was continually cleaned and breakfast items kept in stock. Two choices of cereal, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, toast and fresh fruit were offered. The hotel also offers free wifi in the rooms and has a public computer in the lobby available for free internet access for those traveling without a laptop. Staff were all professional and polite, particularly the lady working in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I-love-world-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear I-love-world-travel,

Thank you for taking the time out and posting a review. We apologize for the noisy heating and air conditioning units. We are looking to get monthly service on our heating and air conditioning units, which will make them less noisy and working great.


We are glad you had enjoyed our in room amenities in our hotel. We will continue to provide excellent service and keep the breakfast filled with many options.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
0.1 mi away
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#10 of 12 in San Mateo
159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
2.3 mi away
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express San Mateo

Address: 2110 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range: $92 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express San Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of San Mateo, we pride ourselves of the charming décor and comfortable amenities of our hotel. We aspire to give you the best quality service and make your stay memorable. Situated among fine dining, renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities, we are certain you will enjoy your stay hassle-free.We are located within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, Oakland, Berkeley, Daly City, Pier 39, Alcatrez, Fisherman’s Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and we are a short drive away from Napa and Sonoma Valley which host some of the finest vineyards in the world.We are in close proximity to Oracle, Yahoo, Google, Mills Peninsula Medical Center, Virgin America, NASA, United Airlines, Stanford University, Canada College, and minutes from Silicon Valley which comforts our business travelers. Our explorer travelers will appreciate landmarks & historical buildings around the area like Coyote Point Park, Eugene A. Doran Memorial Bridge, De Anza Expedition Camp, Courthouse Square, Father Junipero Serra Statue, Devil's Slide Historical Landmark/ Viewpoint, Ralph D. Percival Memorial Vista Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Express San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Howard Johnson San Mateo
San Mateo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing