We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your own mop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
California City, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bring your own mop!”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I had to clean the toilet before I could use it myself. There was also urine and hair on the bathroom floor. The front desk brought me a duster for ME to use to clean the floor myself. AND they wouldn't comp me anything. No remote in room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjpi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear jjpi2000,

Thank you for your review. We like to keep our hotel updated as much as possible with the help of your reviews.

We apologize that your stayat our hotel was dissatisfying. We have made sure all rooms have television remotes in each room. Our front desk agents have been provided with more customer training sessions to better our guests' experiences. We have also trained our housekeeping staff to make sure each room is sparkling clean.

We hope that the next time you visit us will be a more pleasurable experience.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    53
    38
    30
See reviews for
66
43
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Communication at the front was limited to handing me over the key and signing some papers. Management seems to hire people just out of school, first job, and not the least customer service knowledge. Not worth to go back. No elevator for 2nd floor room. Prices are fair. We suggest you pass up the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_D_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Rich_D_11_11,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. We apologize your stay was not a great experience.

We have trained our front desk staff in customer service to be more engaging to all of our guests.

We apologize that our breakfast was not appealing. We like to offer as many choices as we can as far as breakfast items, such as different types of cereals, bagels, breads, beverages, and much more!

We are able to accommodate our guests to be on the first floor of our hotel to make the stay more convenient per availability.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again. Thanks again for helping us improve our hotel.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Mateo hotels

ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The afternoon front desk lady was very helpful and made sure that we felt comfortable and had what we needed. She made a great recommondation for dinner each night. The other front desk were not as helpful, but okay. Reasonable priced and overall clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guestohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear guestohio,

First of all, thanks for choosing our hotel. We are glad that our front desk staff helped you with all that you needed. We take pride in our staff, we promise the same service everytime you visit us. We look forward to see you again at our hotel.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Catalina Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My room was a nonsmoking room, but people were smoking outside my room. I called Trisha at the front desk and she came over immediately and had them leave. Trisha was very helpful to us. She couldn't be nicer. It's a pretty old place. Very reasonably price. Bed was comfortable.

I was telling the lady at the front desk that if they have washing machines, they should have vending for detergent. One of the workers told me they didn't have soap and told me where the store was. Trisha gave me a small box of detergent and said that after that it would cost and from then on front desk would have soap in the drawer for guests. Two suggestions would be to post this in the laundry room and to sell rinse or fabric sheets along with the detergent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Derek D,

Thanks for writing a review. It makes us feel good when guests like our hotel. Sorry for the inconvenience with the laundry soap, we do have detergent boxes at the front desk for our guest available now. Thank you very much for the suggestion, we will post a note about detergent in the laundry room and get fabric sheets for guests to use.

Please visit us again.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima, wa
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

we stayed 5 nights, were at a conference all day so were just here to sleep, the bed was comfortable, room and bathroom clean, staff friendly, and for a reasonable price

Room Tip: we stayed in the very back of the lot, was always nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Stephanie e,

Thanks for taking out time to write about us. We are glad you liked your stay at our hotel. Please feel free to call us or stop by anytime, we will be happy to have you at our hotel again.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. We had to travel for a funeral under stress and found the staff to be so helpful and flexible to our needs. The room had the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and I have slept at five star hotels. This may not be the newest or highest of quality in products used, but everything worked as it should. The room was so quiet that we never heard any other customers and it was packed to full each night. We stayed for five days and on the first day our a/c stopped working. Upon one call to the front desk we had the manager there and fixed the issue in a matter of minutes. The morning breakfast had many choices and wonderful fresh fruit juice. We found out others from our funeral party from out of town were staying there and they have always in the past due to the wonderful service. Upon checkout a very nice professional women from england was checking out and we could not stop talking about the comfortable beds and wonderful service.
Please understand this is a very old hotel/motel that was updated so if you are looking for a shiny perfect never used room this is not your choice. But if your looking for a comfortable, safe, courteous home away from home, then your will not be disappointed

Room Tip: The rooms are large and very quiet. Plenty of room for small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkfarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Darkfaire,

Thanks for all the good things you wrote about us. We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and we were able to be of service during your difficult time, may your friend/ relative's soul rest in peace.

We will be delighted to have you at our hotel again.

Management,
Howard Johnson Express Inn- San Mateo, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The rooms are decent. The best part about the hotel was that it was close to the Hillsdale cal train station which took us to AT&T Park.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamisonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear JamisonS,

We are very glad that you liked our hotel. For your information, other than Caltrain station we are also very close to SamTrans Bus stops, the buses ply from Palo Alto to San Francisco. We are also close to San Francisco International Airport, a third party Airport Super Shuttle can be booked in advance if you are flying and need a ride to the hotel. In the area some other landmarks are San Mateo Event Center, Hillsdale Mall, San Mateo Downtown.

We look forward to see you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
1.3 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#7 of 12 in San Mateo
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
0.8 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express San Mateo

Property: Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
Address: 2110 South El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express San Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of San Mateo, we pride ourselves of the charming décor and comfortable amenities of our hotel. We aspire to give you the best quality service and make your stay memorable. Situated among fine dining, renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities, we are certain you will enjoy your stay hassle-free.We are located within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, Oakland, Berkeley, Daly City, Pier 39, Alcatrez, Fisherman’s Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and we are a short drive away from Napa and Sonoma Valley which host some of the finest vineyards in the world.We are in close proximity to Oracle, Yahoo, Google, Mills Peninsula Medical Center, Virgin America, NASA, United Airlines, Stanford University, Canada College, and minutes from Silicon Valley which comforts our business travelers. Our explorer travelers will appreciate landmarks & historical buildings around the area like Coyote Point Park, Eugene A. Doran Memorial Bridge, De Anza Expedition Camp, Courthouse Square, Father Junipero Serra Statue, Devil's Slide Historical Landmark/ Viewpoint, Ralph D. Percival Memorial Vista Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Howard Johnson San Mateo
San Mateo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing