We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights when there were no rooms available in Palo Alto. A nice hotel, nice room, nice shower, pleasant service. Parking available. Close to freeway. Nothing extraordinary - as expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nettads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HISM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear nettads,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and the service provided by all of our team members. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the SFO area.

Happy Holidays!
Travis N.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    83
    59
    21
    11
See reviews for
62
40
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had a block of 18 rooms at the next door hotel San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel, but arranged a late night get together at the Holiday Inn. The staff accommodated me by extending its closing hour to midnight along with providing a wonderful, fresh and delicious buffet for 60 guests. This was an "after party" after a boxing event so I didn't know exactly when we would arrive. The manager suggested I call a half an hour before our arrival so that he could be certain the food was fresh and hot when we arrived. It was perfect. The staff was excellent. The next door hotel is managed by the same group, and it also had a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We originally had 2 in our room, but another couple joined us so they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite for a nominal fee. Because it was going to be a 3 night stay, I thought they would have stocked the "kitchenette", but I was mistaken. Thankfully, we brought our own plastic utensils, paper plates, glasses, even napkins! There was nothing to do dishes with. There was a small coffee maker, small microwave and small refrigerator. Those were very helpful, but not what I would have expected.
As for the bathroom, every day I had to call for additional towels because they would only leave 3 bath towels for 4 people.
Other than the above, the room was alright. The bed was VERY comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HISM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Vanessa K,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again when you're in the San Mateo or SFO areas.

Happy Holidays!

Travis N
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasileia, AC
Level Contributor
303 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel and well run by its managers. If you are looking for this class of hotel, close and convent to both the city and the airport, then you can't go wrong with the Holiday-Inn hotel in San Mateo. Plenty of places around the hotel to get a bite to eat. And great running along the bay if you're looking to get a work-out in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stuck at SFO until tomorrow which is how I ended up here. I called the hotel from the pickup area at the airport and the shuttle van was there within less than 10-minutes. Check-in was a bit of a hassle but not unpleasant. I waited 15 minutes in line to get checked in to a room. The lobby was very small. The entry carpet needed to be vacuumed badly but the lobby was clean and bright.
I arrived too late by mere minutes to eat in their bistro restaurant, however Manuel (who was cleaning up in the restaurant) was wonderful. I told him of the hectic day I had and though the restaurant was closed and the chef had just left, he took the time to piece together what he could for me to eat so that I could return to my room to rest. Manuel was just the positive customer service experience I needed after such a challenging day.
The hallways to the rooms were very clean as was the small elevator. This Holiday Inn has been renovated quite nicely. The room was spacious and clean with a very nice and open bathroom and a small kitchen table with 2 chairs. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. There were some stains on the carpet in my room but nothing too bad. Though the bedding was clean, the decorative mattress box covers were very dirty on both beds, with several obvious stains. Out of place and gross, especially with everything else being so clean.
There's laundry facilities on the main floor ($1.25 to wash and $1.25 to dry). There's ice machines as well as vending machines on each floor and all of the public areas were clean and tidy.
It is true what the reviews state about the free wifi; It boots you off every couple of minutes and you spend most of your time online re-entering the access code and logging back in.
There is nothing in the area by way of a grocery store or a place to eat within a decent walking distance (aside from their restaurant on site). I ventured out to walk the 10-minutes they said it would take to reach a CVS and a Safeway, but after only a few minutes I returned to the hotel as I didn't feel safe walking in the area.
This hotel is directly off of the freeway and though I could see the freeway from my room, I could not hear any noise. This hotel seems to have proper insulation as I did not hear any guests in surrounding rooms.
Overall this hotel was better than I expected.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaeFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was here end of last month I enjoyed everything thoroughly, service was great, very clean room, nice staff especially Rema at the front desk who graciously and professional checked me in. I really appreciate here customer service. The WIFI connection was not great. I enjoyed my stay and will be back again without hesitation. I did not try the restaurant this time but I will the next time.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

After flying in late from the East Coast, and getting our rental car, we just wanted to settle into our room and have some dinner. The kitchen in the hotel, Bistro 330, was minutes from closing but the guys working were truly wonderful and stayed to cook us some burgers and fries - thanks so much for the great hospitality, guys! You don't know how much it meant for us to have those great burgers and cold beers!

The room was perfect, it provided us with the restful night of sleep we needed before starting our slightly delayed trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.4 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Property: Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing