We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Coyote Point Inn(San Mateo)(Great Value!)
$121
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$219
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Prados Hotel(San Mateo)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
103
100
68
25
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
100
68
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desksan franciscoroom was spacious and cleanoff the highwayother hotelsdidn't hear a thingbusiness tripbedroom suiteonsite restaurantclose to the airportrooms are bigeasy accesslobby areafree parkingminute driveupon checkcoyote point
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 310 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is just off the 101 and very convenient for going to SF, getting to the airport and generally going around this area. The room was pretty large, nice, very clean even including a little side table.
The staff were very friendly checking us in and helpful throughout the stay. When we stayed (March 2013) the technology was pretty bad, wifi juts non existent for most of one morning whiel we were trying to determine what to do, the television also had rotten reception. The staff was accommodating and with a little nudging comped us breakfast to make up for inconvenience which was a really nice way to deal with this inconvenience and left me feeling this was dealt with appropriately.
We ened up feeling we had a good experience and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneinMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This Holiday Inn was very clean. However, the AC in my room would only run for a little while and then it would turn off. Very frustrating. Also, be aware that breakfast is not included. The do have a restaurant but the coffee was horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Shortbull,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We apologize for letting you down on some aspects of your stay and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently enjoyed a four night stay at the San Mateo Holiday Inn. This gem is situated just off the 101, close to the SF Airport and offers an airport shuttle for customers. This facility was sparkling clean. The rooms are large and comfortable with free Wi-Fi which met our business requirements. For those who may like to get a little fresh air and exercise during your travels, you can simply head two blocks over to the trails at coyote park and also enjoy a fantastic view of the ocean along the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway and you`ll enjoy traffic-free noicse and awake rested and refreshed
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Holiday Inn in San Mateo, CA is great hotel for a quick business trip. It's in a wonderful location and just 5 minutes from some great restaurants . . and right of the 101 close to SF Int'l Airport. Saved a bunch of money too, they have a friendly staff and great room design for the business traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cornelius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I often stay at Holiday Inns around the world. The rooms are fine, and the welcome is nice and professional. The bottle of water or snacks given to frequent travellers are appreciated.
Nothing really negative except the wifi.
Well my only question is why is the wi-fi so slow with Holiday Inns? Whether it is at Marseille, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Boston or wherever, wi-fi speed is always throttled back. Is there a corporate guideline for this?
I wish that I could enjoy high speed internet, as such, high speed. I can never watch my slingbox for example (because the speed is so slow).
That's my only problem. Apart from that, this is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisanmateo, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I would like to thank you for posting such
good things about our property and staff.

I would like to apologize for the slow internet. We are running the highest download / upload speed available but have found that our wiring needs to be updated. We are in the process of getting these upgrades completed. I am hoping you will give us another try when you are in our area so we can meet all of your expectations associated with staying at a Holiday Inn.

If you are planning another trip to San Francisco and would like to give us another try please
do not hesitate to call.

Kind Regards,
Chris Roman
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews