We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 minutes to departure gates at SFO. Great price for park stay and fly packages. Clean updated hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“8 minutes to departure gates at SFO. Great price for park stay and fly packages. Clean updated hotel.”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Great location great price clean and updated rooms. My only complaint was that the hotel shuttle was stuck in traffic and front desk called a local cab to shuttle us to SFO. Well let's just say that the cab and it's driver was disgusting. I went to strap my 7 month olds car seat in and the seatbelt and seat was soaked with fresh vomit. Can driver told us he had been up for 3 days and smelled of moth balls and body odor. I would suggest to holiday in to pre screen the other shuttle cab companies before calling on them again in a pinch. I woul stay again but request that hotel ensure clean shuttle for transport.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsummer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    90
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
68
44
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I remember Holiday Innmeaning glorified motel, but if the rebranding of the chain was represented by this hotel, I'm sold going forward!

Great accommodating staff, deluxe (and very reasonably priced) two room suite with the childrens room attentively designed. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I have stayed in hundreds of Hotels ranging from 2 stars to 5 stars. I was returning from Lake Tahoe and made a reservation at this hotel prior to flying back home to Florida. Upon check-in, the front desk lady (her name is KARA) checked me in and was always smiling and friendly. Asked me if there was anything else I needed, greeted me as a Gold Member, and offered me bottled water with cookies and a fruit bar. Later on, my friend and I wanted to go out and eat Sushi. She personally did not know of a particular Sushi place, but asked her co-worker and suggested HOTARU Japanese Restaurant in San Mateo (33 E. 3rd Ave. San Mateo, CA U.S. 94401). The place was great and inexpensive. Probably one of the best sushi food I have had.

Going back to the reason why I started to write this review, the assistant manager at the Holiday Inn told me that the best place to commend someone would be thru this website.

By the way, the hotel was very comfortable. I read some of the negative reviews prior to making the reservation and did not encounter any of the problems that people mentioned. The place was GREAT!!!!!

Again, thanks to KARA for her professionalism and hope to stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDelgado1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your business and for giving us the wonderful review.
We try hard to give the best service to our guest.
Hope to see you back with us again.
Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I needed a place to crash for a night, stayed at the HI San Mateo.

I was given a room on the 3rd floor, had crazy people upstairs jumping around at 11:30 at night. They switched me to a room on the 4th (top) floor, much better. The new room had a side view of the freeway but traffic noise was not an issue, the hum of the a/c unit drowned out any highway noise. I had an excellent breakfast at the hotel, lots of healthy options on the menu. You will have to drive if you need to go to a supermarket, 7/11 or drugstore, no shopping within walking distance.

The hotel was fine for a 1 night crash pad. I would probable seek prettier surroundings if I had a longer stay in the area.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zoo260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Our team travels for volleyball all over so I deal with many sales departments. I called this hotel and spoke with Edgar, Director of Sales. He was awesome! He went above and beyond to meet our groups expectations, he was even flexible on the price, which was huge because with so much travel, it can get so expensive. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms were so big, my entire group loved it. They have sitting areas in different locations around the hotel so it was nice for our group to be able to sit and have a glass of wine without being in someone’s room. Definitely stay here if you have a chance! I only wish other hotel sales departments would provide customer service like Edgar

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pocosnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Great stay in San Mateo Holiday Inn week of Feb 1, 2011. Room was big, less than 1-year new, clean, quiet and slept well. Wireless Internet access was free and reliable. Service was excellent from airport shuttle driver to restaurant, front desk and housekeeping. Front desk even made sure a package that arrived after I departed, was shipped. I made the FedEx arrangements. The front desk made sure it was addressed and even called my cell phone to put my mind at rest that it had been picked up. Nice extras in service throughoutt the 3 night stay. Close to airport, but you have to drive for restaurants and shopping. I recommend it if you want a very nice Holiday Inn near the San Francisco airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLG_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel staff was very accomodating with early check-in. Printed out directions to Monterey. Rooms were very elegant, spacious, and spotless. Located about 9 miles south of SFO Int'l airport but is conveniently located right off the freeway so easy access on and off.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDelgado1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your very good review. We try hard to service our guest and make them feel at home. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.0 mi away
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
1.9 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Property: Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing