We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Smelly Hotel with Bad Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Old Smelly Hotel with Bad Staff”
Reviewed April 25, 2009

uuurgh! we got a room that smelt terrible! there are no vents in the bathroom, so over time the rooms fill with a mildew smell. the staff took forever to check us in. then at 4am the last night they entered the room to give us the final bill. you can guess what our reaction was when someone enters your room unannounced at 4am!!!
they also charge $16 a night for parking - which is a ripoff and the cards they give you to get in and out don't work - so you have to drive to the entrance and request permission manually. add an extra 10 minutes to get in and out!
will NOT come here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFranciscoBritGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    273
    132
    48
    35
See reviews for
121
101
33
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very impressed. It does take a bit of time to get into town but the hotel itself was very nice.

The rooms are big and feel fairly new, we had a suite, with 2 large plasma TVs, coffee making facilities, fast internet etc.. There is a nice outdoor pool area and a very nice gym. The food was very good, especially breakfast. Service was always 100%.

The staff were very very friendly & helpful, every single one of them, and actually seemed to be enjoying their work and always had time if you had any questions.

The only down side is that it is quite a long way out of town - to get in we took the hourly shuttle bus to the airport (which took 25 mins) then caught the BART train into town (about another half hour). San Fan is nice once you get in, good food, lots to do & see - the aquarium is a bit rubbish though and be wary in electronics shops as every shop we went in quoted stupid prices & then say that you are the first customer of the day & halve it - this still won't be a good deal but eventually they drop it to a reasonable price.

The staff & hotel were by far the nicest of any Marriott I have stayed at and if you don't need to be in town them this hotel is well worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonymasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

If you are traveling to the Bay Area and not going to the actual city of San Francisco this is a great hotel to stay at. The rooms are incredibly clean and the beds are VERY comfortable. It has been recently remodeled and includes a great business desk and electronics hook-ups in the room. (you can hook your laptop up to the TV and watch movies should you desire).
Their is wireless and wired internet but it is costly at 12.95 per day. If you need it though it is there.
As for parking, here is a tip, the hotel charges $16 a day. The street right behind the hotel is free! With no parking restrictions! Since there are doors on all sides of the hotel that you can access with your key card just park there and walk into the hotel parking lot to the door nearest your room. Very simple!
As for convenience, the hotel is located at the 101/92 interchange making it a breeze to get on/off the main freeway and find your way. It is about 10 minutes from the airport by car and the bart station is not far from the hotel but it is not walking distance. Not sure about the train.
If you are looking for a nice hotel outside the city that is clean and comfortable and convenient this is the one. I have stayed at many by the airport and trust me, they are no where near as nice as this one or as well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverInOnePlaceLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

HOTEL REVIEW # 162 Marriott San Mateo Airport

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Ok if you are here for business or want to be within a 7 minute drive of the airport. A few shops/restaurants within walking distance.

TYPE OF ROOM: Suite

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was extremely comfortable with very high quality linens and excellent down pillows.

LIGHTING: Tons of light both in room and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Nice. Shower pressure was a bit on the weak side.

TOILETRIES: Bath & Body works. Very good.

CLEANLINESS: Entire hotel and room was spotless.

A/C: Never used.

CLOSET SPACE: Tons of closet space in suite. Nearly a walk in closet.

STYLE OF ROOM: Great. Recently done and well furnished.

COMMON AREA: Good. Not much of a place I would want to hang out but pleasant to walk through.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: It was very quiet except for a low humming sound that wouldn’t stop and was annoying.

FOOD: Mediocre. Had good pancakes and an ok waffle.

TV/INTERNET: Tons of TV stations including HBO. Didn’t use internet. There is wireless in rooms at a charge.

SERVICE: Staff was friendly and helpful.

SUMMARY: I think there is a new wing and a remodeled wing. Best to stay in the new one. There is a fun pedestrian area not that far from the hotel (more of a drive than a walk). The hotel was very comfortable but nothing special stands out about this place. A good place for business or to be close to the airport but not a place I would suggest for tourists.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed / excellent linens
  • Disliked — Just a standard business hotel with nothing special
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My sister and her 15-year old daughter flew in from Chicago and me and my boyfriend drove with them from Orange County to San Francisco. We had the most incredible time and it was a good vacation choice for three adults and a teenager. Along the way we stopped at the Hearst Castle and very much enjoyed driving up the coast. The views were incredible! (If you'd like to see a video of our trip visit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QHzGJnr1FE .) We chose the San Mateo Marriott as our hotel because we were able to get a good deal on a weekend rate. Although the hotel is about 20 miles from Downtown San Franciso it was a really great place to stay. At the end of a long day of sightseeing we liked coming home to the Marriott and feeling like we could rest up for the next day. The hotel was quiet and offered everything we needed. The restaurant at the hotel was good and I really think the room service food was some of the best I've had. The hotel has a great pool and the room we got connected to a second room -- perfect for my sister and her daughter. You do have to pay for onsite parking but we were informed of the charge before checking in and combined with the good weekend room rate it was still far cheaper than staying Downtown. Looking at the location you might think this hotel is too far from all the action but our experience is that being in San Mateo is a real plus. One last tip: If you visit SF do all the tourist stuff (Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge, etc.). It's worth it!

  • Liked — Rooms were comfortable - looked brand new.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Nice property. Excellent Service. Well managed. Thin walls. For the money a good deal. Figure in $14 dollar/day for self parking. Great location. Would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Arrived very late (close to 1 AM). Staff was very friendly and efficient. Room was very large, well appointed and clean. Nice touch was the single size coffee makers the rooms now have. Spent two nights there and would stay there again.

  • Liked — The rooms were quite nice.
  • Disliked — Long walk to get to room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Property: San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing