We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Melbourne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Service is hit and miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

First of all the hotel is like a rabbit warren with a weird layout of corridors which seem to go on for ever. The actual rooms are very McMarriott with the usual stuff you would expect to find. Appear clean and well maintained, good coffee maker in the room etc. The woman in the lobby cafe was kinda rude and unpleasant. They charge for parking despite having a massive parking area out front. Probably one of the better hotels in the area but there's not a lot of places to eat in the area unless you like trader joes over the road. The staff are sometimes nice then others are just bland. All the housekeepers are friendly though and say hello etc. Maybe they are the only ones who love their jobs!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review I know it takes time and effort which is appreciated.

The Marriott San Mateo is definitely spread out and different than most hotels in the area which are the typical high raise buildings. In reading your concern regarding the lobby café, I also agree that anything less than friendly, outgoing, helpful and efficient service is not acceptable. We take a great amount of pride in the services that we provide and it appears that we did not consistently achieve our own service expectation during your last visit. I have reviewed your comments with my team to address the areas that require improvements.

Please accept my sincere apologies and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future and recognize the progress we will have made upon your return. If you would like to reach out to me directly my email address is edg@marriott-sanmateo.com.

Cordially,

Ed Gunderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    267
    122
    46
    34
See reviews for
120
94
31
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the hotel itself is not bad though the room (mine was 1 bedroom suite) is pretty small. However they just cant get instructions right.

Ordered rollaway bed, wasnt in the room and worse was taken away on the 2nd day so had to re-ask again

Told them i will bear half day charge but i had to change my keys 4 times just to access my room on the check out day itself

Overall nice basic hotel to stay in but dont expect anybody carrying out anything but the very basic. Not worth the price

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimmyprosper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
320 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is nicely located off the 101 - but a little hard to get to from there. Maybe it was GPS, but it was a little confusing. Paying to park at a hotel like this seems a little strange since it's pretty far from SFO.

I had my parking waived since my rate was so high given the salesforce.com conference that was happening.

It took almost 10 mins to walk to my room from the lobby. During this stay there was a tremendous rain storm and all throughout my floor there was leaking in the hallways - enough that multiple buckets were placed in the hallway. It smelled a little damp, but my room was clean.

I ordered room service one night here and it was quickly delivered, but the french fries were a giant stuck together pile of cold potato slivers. Not too appetizing to be honest.

The room itself was clean enough, but nothing to write home about. Overall staff was very friendly. Not sure I'll stay at this Marriott again unless the rates are much lower. I'd rather stay a little farther south and save some $ and driving time to Palo Alto.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

For an airport hotel, this place is tops!
The service was stellar. Things were anticipated before I even had to ask, staff were brilliant and the breakfast was of the highest quality. I have never had an actual proper bagel with smoked salmon before on a hotel buffet. I loved it, and the suite was as cute as could be.
Airport transport was also nothing but 5 star, though beware the shuttle stops at 915pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for a night prior to heading to Novato. Our first time here. It was a great hotel - room was spacious and bathroom was huge. We went to the bar for a a night cap and I forget his name but the bartender was awesome and very friendly. Will definitely be back next time - hopefully longer than a night. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was nice overall. We paid to have a one bedroom suite which also included champagne, strawberries, and complimentary breakfast. The room was nice and the location worked out well. It was about a 30 minute drive to San Fran each day. My only complaint about this hotel is there were tables for events left outside the hallways and next to our door the entire weekend. I'm not sure why, but it was a bit tacky looking at round wood tables each time we came and left our room. Other than that our stay was nice and we enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia_TravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Cynthia_TravelGirl,

Thank you for choosing to make us a part of your special celebration. Although, we are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your overall stay, we regret that there were event tables left in the hallways near your room. We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we may ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Our staff hopes to have the opportunity to earn your 5 star review on your next visit to our area.

Kindly,
Ed Gunderson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

First time here. Centrally located off of the 101 freeway and close to the 92. Shopping center is a hop, skip and a jump away. Restaurant and bar was fun and breakfast was great. They serve an all you can eat buffet with a drink for $20. Service was wonderful. Rooms, roomy with a coffee pot and fridge. There's a nice gym that I didn't get to try along with a whirlpool.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ahyiweewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at our hotel! Thank you very much for submitting a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your compliments on our accommodations, amenities, location and great cuisine! On your next visit, we hope you will have the chance to take advantage of all of our amenities, including our state-of-the-art fitness center and heated outdoor pool and whirlpool. It was a pleasure to serve you and our staff looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Ed Gunderson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
3.3 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Property: San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing