We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here 1 night before heading into SF proper for a conference. This is a large convention hotel somewhat out of the way, but convenient to the airport. The facilities are very clean and modern; I was given a room on the 1st floor with a king bed. Fairly standard Marriott room, comfortable bed, and very very quiet despite being on the 1st floor. The grounds are quite nice with a resort-like feel. Trader Joe's is right across the street, as is a drugstore, a Ross, and a TJ Maxx. Had I been here for longer I might have gone a bit stir crazy, but I also met a friend who came to get me for dinner - the hotel is very close to downtown San Mateo which is chock-full of restaurants and shops. I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again, but for personal travel this location would not be my first pick.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank dpenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear dpenta,

It's always great to receive feedback from our valued guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your recent business stay with us. We appreciate your compliments on our quiet and comfortable accommodations and hope your travels bring you back to see us again soon.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 724 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean but the beds are starting to wear out. Our big problemwas that the toilet in our room and our other party's room didn't flush properly. The hotel was attentive to the issue. The concierge floor has a great breakfast and good snacks during the day. We enjoyed the stay other than the plumbing issue. We wish they didn't charge for parking, but we knew that going into it. Parking was $22 or $25 valet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear S T,

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we regret that you were inconvenienced by the plumbing issue in your room. It was our pleasure to promptly tend to resolving this and we appreciate your patience and understanding. Your comments are very important to us, as your insight allows us to know where we are succeeding and where improvements need to be considered. Thank you for your review. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Doing business in Redwood City, sometimes it gets crowded and I have tried several of the hotels around, that this is a good one. The rooms are mostly on the ground floor, and there are exits throughout, so you can usually park pretty close to your room for a quick get away in the morning. The hotel is located almost within walking distance to a CVS and a Trader Joes, so if you want a bottle of wine or snacks, you can venture out pretty easily. They have two gyms, one for weights and one for cardio, and a pretty nice outdoor pool, though for the few hours I was awake there, I didn't partake. But if you are bringing the family, they would likely enjoy that. They have a Starbucks on premise, and a pretty convenient and casual bar/restaurant right off of the lobby, and the room service was really good (I ordered the sliders) and quite fast. Two complaints! One was they charge for internet, which really is a gouge. The other is they charge to park overnight, a lot. Since I am on business travel, it is not on me, but really? But other than that, clean, very friendly staff, convenient, and perfect for a quick business overnight.

Room Tip: It is really spread out, so chose a room based on what you want to do. Close to the pool, far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear jeffonthebeach,

We're very happy that your experience was perfect for your recent business overnight stay. Thank you for providing us with your positive feedback and valued suggestions. Your insight and helpful traveling tips will certainly be appreciate by other travelers too. We appreciate your business and hope to earn your guest loyalty. Again, thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Business travel took us to SF, and the meeting took place at this property but we also stayed for leisure. Overall, it was an outstanding experience. Upon check-in, we were recognized as Marriott Gold Level members and offered a room upgrade and use of the concierge level club (larger than most, really nice). Rooms are excellent, clean, the windows actually open--which was really lovely, to enjoy open windows and no AC in the SF climate. Hotel restaurant, gym and gift shop are wonderful, as is concierge service! The banquet service and food are also excellent. The only downside is that you're far from SF tourist attractions (expensive cab ride) so make sure you map out your transportation plans in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear patriww,

We are very excited to receive your review and hear how much you enjoyed your outstanding business and leisure experience with us! Thank you very much for noting our excellent banquet and food service. Our award-winning chefs, personal catering managers, and staff work very hard to create the perfect menu and setting for any San Mateo event. Thank you for your high rating and recommendation of our property.

Kind Regards,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed in umpteen Marriotts but this one is head and shoulders above the usual Marriott.
Concierge Lounge is outstanding. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport. From the airport the BART is approximately a 25 minute ride into downtown San Francisco. They have a large heated pool and 2 well sized gyms.
Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Joyce M,

Your high rating and remarks certainly mean a lot to us. Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback on your recent business visit. Our staff works very hard to ensure that all that we have to offer in accommodations, service and amenities shines high above the rest, and your positive encouragement is definitely appreciated. We are very happy that you found our Concierge Lounge outstanding, as well as our pool and gyms. Again, thank you for completing the review. We will look forward to your next arrival!

Sincerely,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels that we have stayed at anywhere! Clean and spacious and very upscale. The rooms are large and comfy, the beds are just the way we like them (not too hard) and the pillows are large and soft. We asked for a refrigerator, and Tyler Smittle really took care of us. Room 1055 was much better than we expected! Also, Dennis at the front desk helped us purchase San Francisco Giant tickets through their guest computer room. Dennis also helped us for transportation to the game. There is a train which goes to San Francisco close to the stadium which is only 3 blocks away from the hotel. It is a close walk through a nice, safe, neighborhood, even at night. This is the only hotel where the maids and all the hotel employees greet you with a smile and a greeting whenever they see you! Nice touch, which really makes you feel welcome!
Wonderful staff, and this Hotel is highly recommended by us!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevadaHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear NevadaHudson,

It's quite an honor to be one of the nicest hotels that you have ever stayed at! Thank you for your excellent comments on our upscale hotel, service and amenities. It truly is our pleasure to go out of our way to ensure that your stay is the best experience. We are pleased that the nearby transportation was convenient for you and your family and that you all enjoyed the ball game! Your high recommendation and fantastic rating of our hotel is greatly appreciated. We hope you and your family will return soon!

Best,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel over ten times in the past year. It is consistently good. The service is excellent and the staff goes out of its way to make your stay welcome. Every member of the staff is friendly and greats you with a nice smile. It's not exactly an airport hotel (notwithstanding the airport in its name) but its only about ten minutes away with a complimentary shuttle. A taxi is about $35. My only criticism would be the room service menu, which is limited and tired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dearrzuckerman,

The continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honor that we can earn! Thank you for sharing with other TripAdvisor travelers that you consistently enjoy excellent stays with us and that our staff goes out of their way for our guests. Although, we appreciate your compliments, your suggestion on our room service menu has not been overlooked. Your insight has been noted and will be discussed with the appropriate personnel. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and continued loyalty. We look forward to serving you for many more trips to come!

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
5.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: $153 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing