We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a facelift and better front desk training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift and better front desk training”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel needs some serious capital infusion to upgrade the dullness of the property. Front desk associates not properly trained on accepting gift cards. Took 15 minutes to check out. The one shining star was the crab dish for breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Richard Y,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. The details of your experience assist us in making the necessary changes and improvements to ensure that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay with us. We are sorry for the delay in getting you checked out. Keeping you waiting while we process your gift card is definitely unacceptable. We are pleased that you enjoyed our crab dish for breakfast. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We do hope your business travels bring you back to stay with us in the near future.

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    267
    122
    46
    34
See reviews for
120
94
31
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Begues, Spain
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a conveniently positioned hotel near to our office so an obvious place to stay. The beds are comfortable. The staff provide excellent, attentive service. If you are here for an extended amount of time you will need a car as there is nothing around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anduain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear anduain,

Thank you for your fantastic review on our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to compliment our accommodations and the attentive customer service you enjoyed. We are pleased you found our beds so comfortable. Our Marriott Revive Bedding includes luxurious 300-thread-count sheets, down comforter, white duvet and plush feather pillows. Your comfort is certainly a top priority throughout your entire stay. Again, thank you for staying with us and completing the review.

Warm Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Located fairly close to the airport but basically one way in and one way out with no additional amenities to walk too. (on a dead end street). The facility is quiet amazing with miles of hallways and incredible pool and courtyard. I was a little turned off with the Valet and nightly parking fees (>$20) for guest on top of the room fee. I know some airport hotels charge and some don't some just FYI. Overall, looks like a good facility for a small convention or company sales meeting since it has a resort feel with shops, pools, restaurants, etc...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt_H00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Capt_H00k,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for your recent business visit to our area. You're right; our property is quite amazing! Whether guests are visiting on leisure or business travel, we certainly offer everything needed for a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and are taken very seriously. Thank you for your review.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a pleasant surprise! All of the staff, airport shuttle driver, front desk personnel, valet, restaurant personnel we professional, friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay wonderful. The rooms were spacious and the bed was amazingly comfortable! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravelslways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear welovetotravelslways,

We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Please know that we truly enjoy going out of our way to ensure that you have a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to give us your excellent feedback and ratings. We love hearing how much you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and amazingly comfortable beds. Your high recommendation of our hotel is very much appreciated. We look forward to delivering another outstanding experience to you soon!

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recenlty stayed here for business and was disappointed as it is not up to par with most Marriotts, except for the staff. The rooms are strange and split with a separate living area separated by a doors, which sounds nice except the bedroom part is like a closet and it makes you feel very closed in. The layout of the hotels is not great and it was a very long walk to the room. Also, this is right on the highway so the noise level is high if you are not on the back side. The neighborhood is not great and it didn't feel safe. On the positive side though, the staff was fantastic. Very helpful, friendly and eager to please. I would not stay here again though.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the Atrium side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Christine,

We are very disappointed to hear that we failed to deliver an overall enjoyable stay. We apologize that the layout of our property and rooms did not fit your preference. Thank you very much for your fantastic compliments on our eager to please staff! Our staff is the best! We appreciate all of your opinions and suggestions. It is our hope that you will reconsider staying with us again and give us the pleasure of having you as our guest.

Best,
John Parker, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for the conference. Takes 15-20 minutes by hotel shuttle from sanfran airport. Reported issues with room-wiggly tub faucet, power button tv remote not working and noisy air vent. Nothing was done about it after given the chance to correct. Banquet facility was very accommodating for our needs. The breakfast buffet was well prepared. Overall dining experience was good but pricey. Glad to not have a rental car for pricey parking fee even for the hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bldeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear bideveryday,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay by completing the review on our hotel. We apologize for failing to immediately repair the wiggly tub faucet, t.v. remote button and vent in your room. We certainly missed the mark and have followed up on your comments to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for your compliments on our banquet facility and well prepared breakfast buffet. Please know that our parking fee is commensurate with the majority of brand hotels in our entire area. You will find that the properties that do not charge a parking fee, will most likely have higher accommodation rates. Again, thank you for sharing the details of your stay. We hope your travels will bring you back to stay at our hotel again soon.

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've been "living" here 1-2 weeks per month. I've always had clean, comfortable rooms. I love the food and the staff is truly as wonderful and attentive as other reviews stay. One time I was taking the red eye flight home, management allowed me to return to the hotel after work to use the gym and they allowed me to add my dinner to my bill after check out. It was over and above and I really appreciated the ability to be there instead of spending hours at the airport.

I love that they have separate weight and cardio rooms so they have more treadmills than an average hotel. Rosario is a great bartender.

I actually prefer rooms with 2 beds to 1 king here, like the layout better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear ckarp,

Thank you for making our hotel your home for a few weeks per month. Your continued patronage is very mush appreciated. The valuable feedback you have included in your review will certainly be helpful to other travelers. Thank you for mentioning that you have always had clean and comfortable accommodations, and that you love our staff and food. It is our extreme pleasure to go above and beyond our guests' expectations. We truly enjoy assisting in any way we can to ensure our guests are enjoying their experience; that includes your day of departure and after you have checked out! Thank you for the excellent review. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
3.3 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Property: San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing