We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. Now please FIX the Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Huntington Beach
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice. Now please FIX the Internet”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times, and it's a solid hotel. The staff is EXCELLENT, the rooms are nice (standard Marriott). The room service is always prompt. On my last 3 stays, I have been upgraded to a suite (I've been here 4 weeks in a row now). And the Concierge Lounge is probably my favorite in the Bay Area.

One complaint. Fix the Internet. It's annoying when you're in the middle of doing something (and I've already been through the entire signon process!)...and the signon window pops up again. And the service is frequently SLOW. This is S A N M A T E O! You're basically in Silicon Valley, and fast, reliable internet service is an absolute must.

Fire those iBahn folks (really...what a stupid name), and get someone who can do it right. I've had my service interrupted each time I've been here over the last 4 weeks.

But even so, I'd stay here again because of the staff, lounge, and upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Daer HBsteve,

We greatly appreciate your continued patronage to our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on our excellent staff, accommodations and lounge. It's wonderful to hear that you find our property a solid hotel and that you will continue to stay with us. Thank you for bringing the Internet details to our attention. Please know that we have immediately followed up on this, as we understand how important a quick and reliable connection is to all of our guests. We appreciate your time in giving us your opinions and suggestions, and look forward to the pleasure of having you as our guest again.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    271
    130
    48
    34
See reviews for
121
99
33
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently spent two days at this property & could not be more pleased with our experience! We have come to expect nice accomodations from Marriott, but the staff here is TRULY EXCEPTIONAL. Their attention to detail, from the first check-in to check-out, really makes guests feel that their business is valued. Our room was immaculate, beds exquisite, great coffee makers, and room service faire was tasty and fresh. Also great little refrigerators to keep fruit & sodas. As Seniors, we actually don't mind the parking charge as we like the security (which is visible) for our vehicle, and feel SAFE going to & from the lot. We usually visit monthly to this area for Dr. appmts so have stayed in several other locations, but after our last Marriott stay, we decided we will not even bother with other hotels- this is the BEST VALUE FOR OUR $- "our home away from home!" Give them a try!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Highway 101 toward west side of building. And for heaven's sake- if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear KJ R,

It is our extreme pleasure to be your home away from home! Thank you for your fantastic review on your recent experience at our hotel. It is always rewarding for our staff to exceed our guests expectations. We appreciate you mentioning that you could not be more pleased with our immaculate and comfortable accommodations, as well as our truly exceptional customer service. Also, thank you for sharing with other travelers that our live, visible security made you feel safe going to and from our lot. We are proud of all that we have to offer, and appreciate hearing that you received the best value for your money while staying with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

Warm Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is located close to the airport an some of the pricing policies of the major airlines have been imitated. We recently stayed here 8/18-19/2012 for a local soccer tournament
What I liked about the hotel:
Nice looking suite
Nice outdoor pool
If you're on an expense account for business and you don't care about your business bottom line it's OK
What I didn't like:
Excessive additional charges:
Parking additional $22.00 with an almost empty lot (this hotel is not downtown)
Wi-Fi an additional $13.00 (We have stayed in many other local hotels and this is always free)
No breakfast included
Thermostat is not adjustable
Central air/heat is loud and distracting from sleep
I would avoid this hotel there are many other more family friendly hotels in the area
The rooms are overpriced to begin with and then the hotel tries to and succeeds in running up your bill.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Michael J,

We are very disappointed to learn of the dislikes of your experience with us, however, your valuable feedback is very important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to deliver an overall enjoyable stay. It certainly would have been our pleasure to assist you with the thermostat in your room. Please note that it is adjustable so that you are able to control the temperature to fit your comfort level. We have taken all of your comments seriously. Again, we are sorry that we fell short of impressing you. Thank you for completing the review on our hotel.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Got room through PL here. The hotel is in good condition and has spacious rooms. Front desk was friendly and quick.
The parking is a rip off ... $20+ for a airport hotel along the highway with plenty of space is far too much. However, one can park in the street behind the hotel for free. It is just 50m more walking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigermaus7978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear tigermaus7978,

We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. Your comfort and enjoyment is extremely important to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, as well as our friendly and efficient customer service. Please know that our parking fee is equal to that of the majority of brand hotels in our area. Again, thank you for your review and feedback. It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here for a conference so didn't have much time to spend at the hotel. The room was generous, the wifi and wired connections were adequate. All in all I got the quiet room I asked for. There is a Trader Joe's a short walk (2 blocks) away, but there was no microwave or refrigerator in the room. The staff was friendly, and the 15 minute or less walk to the Caltrain station was easy if not particularly salubrious (Caltrain transfers to BART at Millbrae seem quite well coordinated). The free hourly airport shuttle was convenient and good -- it arrives around 25 past the hour at the International Terminal at SFO and only runs till 9pm.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the highway side (the front of the hotel faces 101)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear rpaditya,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent business visit to our area. We are pleased that you found our accommodations generous and quiet. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed our convenient location, as well as our complimentary hourly airport shuttle. Also, If there is anything you would like us to review on your bill with you, please do not hesitate to call us at your convenience. Thank you for completing the review on our hotel.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for a conference. The guest rooms and meeting rooms seemed clean and bright. Hotel has good amenities - two fitness rooms, pool, restaurant, and shuttle to airport/BART. Individual Keurig machines in the room were a nice touch for getting that first cup of morning coffee. Restaurant and market staff were friendly and attentive. Front desk staff was polite and business-like but did not go the extra step to the level friendliness and helpfulness you would expect from a Marriott. Another reviewer mentioned concierge service - I guess I missed that; I was not even able to get a map of San Mateo - only San Francisco. (Luckily there was a AAA down the street which did have local maps.) Wifi was a surprising $14.95 per day. There were no refrigerators in the rooms. Breakfast was expensive (although a Trader Joe's across the street worked well as an alternative). It would have been great if the shuttle ran to the caltrain stop and downtown area. We paid the conference room rate, which was a significant savings; if we had paid full price, we would have been more disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Provence_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Provence_Enthusiast,

We appreciate your time in completing the review on our property and apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your compliments on guest rooms, meeting rooms and amenities. Also, please know that your comments in regard to our front desk and concierge service have not gone overlooked. Our guests' feedback is extremely important to us and every detail is followed up and addressed. Again, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as our guest again. It will be our pleasure to deliver an enjoyable experience along with the top notch customer service we are known for.

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I was upgraded to an executive suite - pretty big but not very exciting. Your basic,mid 90s refurbishment. The bathroom is pretty basic. There isn't much one can say about this place - the desk person was welcoming and they have a practical coffee shop located in the lobby. Overall this is a fine conference/business type hotel located right off the highway.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick of Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Nick of Paris,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent business trip to the U.S. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete the review on our hotel and give us your feedback. We are pleased you had a nice overall stay and hope your business travels bring you back to our area again soon.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
3.2 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Property: San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing