We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!”

Coyote Point Recreation Area
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Beautiful park setting with the wonderful surprise of a tiny zoo-like feature that is unique and lovely. I would think that children would go wild over it. I did, and I'm far, far from being a child (at least on the outside).

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    53
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I used to fish there there is a lot to do in the recreation area, includeing the golfing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I don't dislike anything Try it you will love it we did, There is nothing i can add you have to see it for yourself

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lots of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

great place for a picnic, lots of open space. bring a jacket as it can get windy. plaques tell you the history of the area, it used to be a big attraction with rides and games, dancing with live music at night. who knew?

Helpful?
Thank cincodeperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a good place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

with $6 parking fee you can enjoy the open space with nice view to watch aircraft landing at SFO and kids play ground. You can easily spend about 4 hours for picnic, playground, kiting and etc. It is a really good place for flying kite if you like to. Nevertheless, the traffic on 101 is not always good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sleeper24hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Coyote Point - Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

$6 a carload but well worth it. There's everything from golf to windsurfing to kite boarding to picnicking to playing to watching planes land ...... You name it, it's there. My favorite was watching the windsurfers (rentals available). They were really good and the wind was up so they were absolutely flying across the bay. If you're having a barbecue or party of sorts, the picnic areas need to be reserved in advance. There's also a trailside museum but we didn't go in this trip. All in all, Coyote Point is a good spot to enjoy an afternoon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 10032016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Point Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Coyote Point Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing