We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Up from the Fish Market”

Top of the Market - San Mateo
Reserve with OpenTable
Top of the Market - San Mateo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 410 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fashion Is. Blvd.
Transit: Public transit stops at South Norfolk directly in front of the restaurant.
Description: Although a Peninsula landmark since 1982, Top of the Market in San Mateo is almost a secret discovery above the bustling Fish Market downstairs. This intimate restaurant overlooking a quiet lagoon evokes the sophisticated charm of the classic, timeless bay area fish house. The seasonal American menu features the finest seafood, meats and local produce complimented by an exceptional wine list.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Step Up from the Fish Market”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Literally a step up from the fish market because it is upstairs. It offers a quieter and more intimate atmosphere. You can sit at the counter by the grill and watch the chiefs cook if you like. Top of the Market has a great variety of fish to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConstantTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Dining”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't call this a destination restaurant. Or even a 4 out of 5 star restaurant. The food was good, lobster tail for me. It was quite large and a very reasonable price. The oysters were small and nothing outrageous, but considering where this place is, not restaurant row, it was enjoyable. If you find yourself nearby, this upstairs restaurant can please.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top of the line service”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a fine restaurant that has a wide selection of drinks and dishes .
The service is very good ,you are made to feel welcome as soon as you arrive !
I was there with a group on business about 15 of us ,the staff were very customer friendly and graceful in their delivery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RozanaGaffoorali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“5 Star Food in a 3 Star Environment”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located on the second floor of the Fish Market is the latest stab at a good, upscale seafood restaurant. For those of you who have "experienced" the Fish Market, this is definitely a step up (literally and figuratively). One enters the Fish Market restaurant and waltzes past the lines and noise to travel up one flight of stairs to another world where the food is delightful. Unfortunately, it seems they only swept out the attic and stapled down the loose carpet in preparation for this debut. The somewhat shabby details are compounded by the fact that one could easily hang a side of beef in the corner of this sub-zero environment. The A/C is working well - even when it's 45 degrees. Nonetheless, we found our meal to be really delicious and fun. We tried a number of dishes, both land and sea, to find out what kind of cooking might go on here. Starting with the shrimp cocktail and beet salad, we found that both were yummy, the shrimp cocktail being some of the most delicious we've ever tasted; cooked just right, moist and delicious, plump and tasty tiger prawns, they were fantastic. Next we tried the lobster and filet mignon with the shrimp linguine plate. With the first bite of filet, it was obviously grass-fed and a lovely cut. Although prepared quite rare (and hubby had to send it back to be "adjusted") I found it to be a divine dish. The lobster was equally tasty and the linguine was good as well (though not remarkable). Service was good and a fun time was had by all. Bottom line: Ignore the decor and focus on the food - yum.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Top notch seafood, quite and comfortable environment”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I took a friend here tonight who was just in town and wanted seafood. I live in the City but she was staying at a hotel near the airport and it seemed to far to drive to the city and back. Found this on Open Table...had been to the Fish Market before but not their more "high end" dining location. Fabulous. I had an incredible heirloom tomato and burrata salad and a scallops with fresh peas and tomatoes entree. The scallops were sweet and prepared perfectly. My friend had oysters which she loved and a tuna nicose salad whiche which she also enjoyed. A nice bottle of Duckhorn Pinot Noir. Lovely evening...it was my birthday and they gave us our pick of desserts....had a killer warm fruit tart with ice cream...to die for!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Market - San Mateo also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Market - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing