We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Chennai Club

The Chennai Club
Ranked #250 of 409 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 25th
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I ordered the Mumbai Pau Bhaji and Bombay Rava Dosa. The bhaji was insipid - the pre-cooked packaged bhaji found in Indian grocery stores tastes much better. The garlic on the bread (advertised on the menu) was missing. The Bombay Rava Dosa was a bit better, but still not authentic - the serrano chilies and peppercorn (advertised on the menu) were absent. Food was a major disappointment - decor is funky and service is good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cavalier62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Highly recommended !”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are in a mood for westernized indian food, this is THE place. It is a small restaurant, not fancy. But, food is great. They have great varieties of dosa - both veg and non-veg. Some of them are quite innovative I must say ! The service is quick. Potion size is big. Food is very tasty. If you can not take too much of spice, you have lot of choices. I will highly recommend this place.
Comments:
1.The parking lot for the restaurant is across the street inside the gas station. You will get plenty of street parking though.
2. This place is close to Hillsdale mall. If you are tired of the food from the food-chains inside the mall, couple of minutes of drive to this place is totally worth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nilotpalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quick and Tasty Indian Food Stop”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I actually went to The Dosa Republic on Valentine's day with a coworker/friend while travelling on business. By the time we got around to thinking about dinner all the restaurants were sold out for Valentine's day but The Dosa Republic, which is counter service, had tables available so we decided to try it out. We ordered several different small plates to share and they were all wonderful. The only bummer was the lack of a liquor license but we soon got over that and enjoyed the food. I am not that familiar with southern Indian food and had never tried a Dosa before but certainly will again as it was tasty and unique. They have many vegetarian dishes which was a plus with us as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for Southern Indian food in San Mateo”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Dosa Republic is one of the few restaurants specializing in Southern Indian food in the peninsula. with a strong local following and can be very popular during the weekends. For those unfamiliar with dosa, this is a fermented crepe made with rice batter and lentils. At Dosa Republic, you can find variations of this stuffed with all kinds of spicy ingredients. I tend to order the Thali combo platter since it contains an assortment of different items and is quite filling. It comes with petite pea pulao (rice dish), Bombay potatoes, veggie of the day (eggplant when I came), sambar (vegetable stew with pigeon peas), rasam (broth made with tamarind), roti bread, raita (yogurt and cucumber), papadum, pickles, chutney and dessert. The food is always flavorful with just the right amount of heat for me. You order at the counter and they assign you a number to take to your table. Once the food is ready, a server brings you the food. You help yourself to drinks and eating utensils.

Here is the link of the restaurant with more information:

http://www.thedosarepublic.com/menu.html

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsetpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to eat ..”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a masala dosa, the filling was not really as how it should be in terms of spices but was not bad, just a different style of making it. Sambhar was average, chutney(s) were good. Good service, had a sweet lassi to wash it down .. was ok..... bit on the pricy side but i guess you need to pay that for the ambiance.
Had a good mix of young and family crowd, seems like a popular place for the area.

Very nice ambiance .. nice decor .. something different than a standard joint. Will surely recommend it ..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CK_NJNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chennai Club also viewed

 

Been to The Chennai Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing