We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nightmares”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel itself is standard and customer service is nice but no staff available on certain time like early morning or mid night. The room is nice flat screen TV, Fridge, microwave. The cons : Hotel is next to trucking company for metal supply, 1 block away from a crossing rail road intersection , and some construction company right next door. Talking about 4am in the morning trucks passing by and making tons of noise, trains crossing @ 8pm -12am & every 2 hours after mid night with blowing horn and crossing Rail sounds. This is the worst area to stay while on vacation. Wifi dont work @ all. If you really have to stay in San Mateo area pick another Hotel away from that block.

Room Tip: If u staying choose the 2nd floor level and avoid the rooms toward the end cause thats where waste t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chichala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    45
    32
    67
See reviews for
40
67
42
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Stone Villa Inn at the end of December, 2012, and the place was great. Management very responsive (including mailing back a charger we left), and the place was clean and convenient. Obviously they had just upgraded to flat screen TVs and other amenities, because the old TVs were stacked up on a balcony ready to be taken away. And the windows open wide!
A fine place with a warm host. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Toward the back, away from El Camino Real would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place looks ok on the outside. However, it is dirty on the inside. We booked several rooms that varied from ok to horrible. The best room was large fairly clean but smelled like chemicals. The other rooms were dirty. One room had wet carpet and the other had black mold on the wall. The owner is defensive and not customer friendly. If you want a cheap place to stay it is cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tjktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a long drive from Santa Monica. It looked nice and the room (Queen) was a very good size with a large very comfortable bed, big flat screen TV. A few niggling problems. The shower head is very low. I'm tall so it's not a complaint as such but I havn't had the problem in other places. What is not so good is the noise from the aircon outside, the strong smell in the reception and the smell of detergent In the room. Unacceptable points were the huge pair of yellowing granny pants we found when checking the room as we left and the bottle of KY I found in the draw next to the bible!! The place is good value but the management need to tighten up their act a bit. The breakfast is a bit take it or leave it as well. Put it this way, we were starving when we left but opted for hunger. Enough Said.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was to California on vacation for 1 week and I stayed in 4 hotels (Candlewood, Holiday Express, Stone Villa Inn and Red Roof). I have booked Deluxe Queen with Stone Villa Inn. Everything was excellent and way better than the other hotels I stayed, with the price being nearly half compared to other hotels I stayed at. Even the breakfast was way better with multiple options compared to the others. It was family owned and maintained very well. I would strongly recommend staying there if visiting SFO (it's 30 min drive).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything is overpriced in the Bay area, but this place is actually reasonable. The rooms are updated and some other posts talk about the beds being very firm, which they are. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors all around. I would recommend a room upstairs. The second story walkway is impossible to walk on without being heard downstairs. The breakfast was not good. Instant coffee and cereal.

Call the hotel and get the rate and then check prices on Expedia, etc.

It's an ok place to stay when you have to pay your own expenses when traveling for business. I wouldn't take my family along to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Experiencedtrav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here on business.I travel frequently. This review is based on my experiences in the bay area. Curb appeal was very nice. the flower gardens are a nice touch and well taken care of in the front of the facility and also throughout the common areas, new parking lot which was freshly painted along with the entire building , appearance was very nice. Check in was fast and simple the management was very kind and helpful. The room was very clean and newly remodeled with a very comfortable upscale office chair,large desk, new 39" flat screen TV (much larger than most hotels) new lamps with the plastic still on the shades i must say these rooms must've been remodeled within the week it was very nice exceeded my expectations for the price for the area. In regards to "price" I decided to take advantage of the "call for special rates" listed on the website as opposed to using a GDS I'm glad I did I got an excellent rate! The bed was very comfortable I slept very well! the location was great too offering free private secured parking on a new parking lot. walking distance to several different style restaurants and pubs. the Airport is very close only 6 miles away and it's just 30 minutes to San Francisco or San Jose! 5 stars for the value of my experience at this hotel and I will definatley return to Stone Villa Inn when visiting the Bay area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattv2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#8 of 12 in San Mateo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
0.7 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO

Property: Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
Address: 2175 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403-1806
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management as of 01/01/2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing