We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greqt price - bad security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Greqt price - bad security”
Reviewed July 17, 2005

We stayed at the Wingate Inn as a Stay, Park, and Fly deal. It was reasonably priced on the Internet and advertised secure covered parking. The hotel was very nice and the staff was very helpful, but the major problem was that their security was very poor. We locked our car and left them the keys as we left for our flight. When we returned two weeks later we discover that many things had been stolen from our car. It seems as though the car was left unlocked when it was moved into the "secure" underground parking. The other problem was that the security camera only covers certain areas of the parking lot.

I signed a waiver when I checked into the hotel releasing the hotel from any liability of any loss, so they refused to cover any of the items that were stolen. Knowing what I know now, there would be no way I would stay at this Wingate Inn. I also hope others will realize that this is a bad neighborhood and the police officer that handled my case confirmed this. We have stayed at other locations for the Stay, Park & Fly that worked out great - so avoid this place if possible.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank sonomaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    344
    100
    44
    23
See reviews for
267
186
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cocolalla, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2005

I've stayed here several times for business. It's tough to beat the price for a nice, clean good-sized room with a fridge and microwave. The property always looks sparkling clean. The parking can be difficult -- I drive a company truck that's too big for the spaces and have to park on the street and walk, no big deal. The hotel is right on the 101, but the noise isn't bad. I'd rather stay here than the pricier Marriott Residence Inn, where the rooms are slightly bigger, but the TV channels are sparse (who knew ESPN had so many channels).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ktrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2005

Hotel was nice, clean, staff nice, breakfast weak, but parking poor. Had to park off site on street one night. Parking lot is miniscule above ground and had underground parking which is a nightmare if one doesn't have a sub-compact car. Freeway noice irritating in rooms. Trucks shake room occassionally disturbing rest.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2005

Wouldn't stay here again. The hotel does not have an airport shuttle so you must take a $20 taxi ride each way. The savings on the room price are completely wiped out by the expensive transportation to and from the airport. There are many more choices in hotels with similar rates that provide airport transportation. Also the rooms face the freeway and do not have insulated windows so you get freeway noise all night even with the windows closed. We stayed here after an exhausting 14 hour plane ride back from Europe and did not spend a very restful evening due to the noise.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2005

Ditto to what everyone else said regarding this hotel. Great value, especially if you wish to stay and leave your car when you fly out of SFO. Why park at the airport when you can stay at a nice hotel? The hotel also will comp your taxi ride using one of their partners to and from the airport. NO waiting for those crowded shuttle buses that make frequent stops.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2005

Stayed 2 nights for some family events in the area and were very happy! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms have everything needed - fridge, microwave, hairdryer, iron and board - and we needed them all. Appreciated the sofa and coffee table in the room. The only problems: The bedding had some holes, it was hard to control the room temp and the TV reception was poor (although we were offered a different room for that). Waffles at breakfast were excellent (but maybe my husband was just good at making them!) Some rooms overlook part of a golf course, but the hotel is RIGHT on 101 (major highway). It was a little tricky to get back on the highway but staff gave good directions. You have to drive to get to anything, as it is located in a sort of residential/commercial area.

You can get excellent deals online and we had an even better corporate rate. Can't beat it!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank choosevegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2005

we have been here in jan. 2004, after having read the reviews here and as we got a good rate. the wingate inn had been our first stay directly after arriving at SFO from a long and rather stressful flight (from germany).

it was relatively easy to find and not far to drive from the airport.
first plus was the free parking (although relatively crowded as we were arriving late - but in case: underground parking lot and possibilities in the neighbourhood).

check-in was friendly and fast.
the long corridors and the elevator areas looked ok, but when we opened the door to our room we were amazed. hughe.
very comfortable, very clean. nice bathroom, good beds.
perfect to recover from the long flight.
the free internet was another plus, as we had our laptop with us and we needed to check emails and arrange things.

the included breakfast was ok too.

on our way back we booked the same hotel again for the last days before departing. great! we will come back in a few weeks.
the only "disadvantage" might be that it's a bit off SF, in case you want to visit downtown.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hansandfranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
989 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
3.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coyote Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coyote Point Inn

Property: Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Address: 480 North Bayshore Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94401-1236 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Coyote Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, safe and affordable accommodation near San Francisco airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Coyote Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Coyote Point Hotel San Mateo
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing