We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I liked this hotel when I stayed there 2 years ago. I chose it again because of my previous experience. It did not disappoint me. If anything, the staff were even more friendly and helpful this time. The room was very nice and comfortable. I just felt the hotel mgt had spent more thought into improving the experience a guest would have in staying at the hotel. The hotel is not as near to the airport as other airport hotels, but it is right next to the freeway and the city center of San Mateo has many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wing Yee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 852 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet and convenient stay during a visit or to use SFO, this place is a great choice when you use your AAA or BWI points. The rooms are standard, the furniture reasonably new-sh. Double-pane windows that OPEN so you can get real air into the room. Easy parking in a basement garage. Four stories tall. Jacuzzi is shaded by a Magnolia tree. Coyote Point area is an interesting off-the-beaten-track place to cruise around. As a native Bay Area person, I like to see the changes areas undergo. Some are vacant office buildings, some light industrial. CalTrain. Odd bits. if you are into that kind of thing. You can also find the Its It Ice Cream factory; the dilapidated floating restaurant The Sherman; empty shoreline. Far enough from SFO to not be bothered by vibration. Downtown Burlingame is a tiny upscale shopping area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kathologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very handy to SFO. From the north get off 101 south at 3rd and get back on 101 north. Then get off at Dora Ave turn left three blocks to hotel. Breakfast is the same each day. There is more parking under the hotel. There are also two computers with internet connection to print boarding passes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Convenient to airport and downtown San Francisco. Easy on and off to freeway. Clean, comfortable, safe and friendly. Went to the OSU vs. UC Berkley football game, Pier 39, Napa Valley and the beautiful 17-mile drive from Monterey to Pebble Beach. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel was great in all ways except the automatic lights in the bathroom. They were set on a timer which was automatically set for an unknown period of time. Whenever we took a shower, they would go out, leaving us in the dark. It was awkward and dangerous stepping out of the shower in the dark to turn the lights on again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spend the last night of a 13 day trip to California at this hotel since it was close the the SF Airport. The hotel is very nice; modern; clean and comfortable. It's certainly not located in a scenic area but it's very close the downtown Mateo and many restaurants.

They offer free parking; free internet and free hot breakfast which is a plus. . . . . . especially at their reasonable rates. Breakfast is best looked at as a "continental breakfast" which is very good if you refrain from taking the scrambled eggs (a tasteless yellow glob). There are plenty of other breakfast items to satisfy.

I said that their "customer service could improve" . . . . . I found the desk clerks, both that evening and in the morning, very friendly and helpful. The lady in the breakfast was something else. Unsmiling and unresponsive is the best way to describe her. One of the maids also did something that unsettled me. I walked up to the elevators with my friend after breakfast . . . . followed by another couple . . . . . and a maid with her cart was waiting at the elevator. When she saw us approaching, she pushed her cart against the door so only she would be able to enter when the elevator arrived. When it arrived, she entered with her cart and immediately pushed the button to close the doors . . . . . leaving 4 guests to wait for another elevator. Strange!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were looking for a hotel with a close access to Candlestick Park and the new 49ers Levi's Stadium being constructed in Santa Clara, CA. The Best Western Coyote Point fit that requirement. This hotel was easily located off the 101 and we had no problem to return to our trip the next morning after a couple cups of coffee and orange juice. The breakfast set up looked tasty however we weren't hungry. Our room was clean, comfy, and I didn't even hear the multiple airlines landing/taking off at the San Francisco airport. Prior to closing down for the day we took a short tour of the Coyote Point park area. No traffic problems! I believe it was under two miles away and we only had to make one turn to go into the park. Nice! If we are to return to this area of California, I will consider staying at the Best Western Coyote Point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Courtney Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
2.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coyote Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coyote Point Inn

Address: 480 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1236 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: $109 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Coyote Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, safe and affordable accommodation near San Francisco airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Coyote Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Coyote Point Hotel San Mateo
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing