We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in a double queen room for one night prior lo attending an event in conference centre in san Mateo. The hotel was welcoming and clean with good facilities. Great included breakfast with excellent choice. Would definitely stay again should I find myself needing accommodation in the area

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Best Western Coyote Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest, Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are humbled that your stay with us was enjoyable while visiting for business in our city. Your word encourages and motivates our team to do the best to keep our guests happy. We would love to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 848 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed an entire week at this hotel so we have an extended opinion! Some say its hard to get to but we had no problem at all as our GPS took us right to it. We were vacationing in San Francisco and this hotel was just a few minutes away and offered big rooms at a much lower rate than SF. Very clean. Our room was quiet. The free breakfast included the usual plus sausage and eggs so we had no problem eating there every morning. If you want convenience and value especially if vacationing in SF this hotel will save you a bundle and meet or exceed all expectations!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Best Western Coyote Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and your vacation trip to San Francisco was enjoyable. We get immense satisfaction to hear that we were able to take care of our guests while vacationing or on business trip with us. We look forward to see you again soon. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a room on first floor of the hotel for three nights. Two of the days we came back to find that the room service staff had left our window open. The first time it was wide open and I went to the desk to tell them. All of our stuff could have been stolen as it's on floor level and there is a sidewalk right outside. The apologized and said they would talk to housekeeping. The next day it was open 5 inches. I went to tell the front desk it happened again and she said she talked to the daytime mgr and she said she talked to housekeeping and had talked to us. I asked my roommates and no one talked to any of us about it. The other problem was that the safe didn't work, so we couldn't use that either. Basically our stuff wasn't secure the entire time we were there. The other weird thing is that the lights are on a timer. So if you're not walking around they turn off on you. The reverse is also true. We would get up in the middle of the night and go to the bathroom. Coming back to bed fumbling in the dark, but getting into bed we would throw off the sensor and the front hall light would turn on. It was always backwards of what we needed. No lights when we needed them and they would come on when we accidentally moved the wrong way. I have stayed in a lot of hotels but have never experienced anything like that. There are no restaurants in walking distance and no restaurant at the hotel. You can get to SFO with a free shuttle. We tried going downtown on the BART and were told directions by the daytime mgr. She also gave me the times to call to get back before the shuttle ended, but the night manager didn't send the shuttle. I called 30 minutes before the shuttle ended and he said, no you have to call back when you get to SFO. I did at 12:25. He didn't reach the driver until 12:31 which was one minute past the driver's shift so he said..No I'm off shift. We had to take a cab and spend $20 to get back to the hotel. I called the head manager while at the hotel to tell him about the open window. He took two days to call me back. This was the worst experience overall of any hotel I've ever stayed at, so I wanted to share.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Best Western Coyote Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your point of view. As a team, we are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and will improve on things highlighted. However, I personally addressed your concerns and called you back with update. Thank you for being our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room was clean and of a good size. Staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good, better than at the other places we stayed at during our trip. The location is very good, easy for getting into San Francisco. We parked at Milbrae station one day and took the BART into San Franciso and drove the other days. Although the airport is only ten minutes away and we could see the planes coming in over the bay, we never heard any planes. The 101 did not disturb us either, although we were up before 7am each day due to jet lag. We were very happy staying at this hotel and tried to book again for our last night just over a week later, but they were fully booked.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Best Western Coyote Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest, Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hassle free trip to San Francisco. I am very-very sorry that we were unable to accommodate you being fully booked the day you wanted to stay with us. However, we would love to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice big, clean rooms with very comfortable beds. Right off 101 but very quiet. Average breakfast bar with sausage, eggs , waffles etc. nice hot tub and sauna. Would definitely stay again. Free parking ground level and below. Great value if booked in advance. Thank you Best Western!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsc900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Best Western Coyote Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so glad that you choose to stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Yes, it's near the freeway, but from the upper floors you can see some of the bay, the airplanes landing at SFO and Oakland and the city lights of San Mateo. Very clean, nice folks, lots of coffee and creamer packets, real mugs and glasses for your beverages. Amici's pizza is right around the block and they deliver. What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Fourth floor has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliethegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Best Western Coyote Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest, Your kinds words mean a lot to all of us. We are indeed glad that you choose to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please come and stay with us again, we look forward to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice and clean, quiet surroundings and comfortable bed. Yes, if you look out the windows towards the back of the hotel, or drive around you'll see its in a bit of a "rough" neighborhood, but it bother us. Mixed neighborhood as in many large towns where industry has grown up around the community.

Great value compared to hotels closer to the city! Friendly staff, too.

Room Tip: This hotel is a gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaSonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Best Western Coyote Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write, we truly appreciate your compliments. We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable, we eagerly look forward to your next visit. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
2.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,030 reviews
3.3 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#10 of 12 in San Mateo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coyote Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coyote Point Inn

Address: 480 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1236 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: $108 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Coyote Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, safe and affordable accommodation near San Francisco airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Coyote Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Coyote Point Hotel San Mateo
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing