We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for family stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good choice for family stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This place has lots of nice amenities and is comfortable for a family stay. We had a car with us so we liked the free covered parking and could drive to town to eat dinner which we did with no trouble. We liked the free wifi and comfortable beds. The breakfast provided was good and plentiful and the staff made sure items were stocked. It's close to the freeway for easy access and I didn't notice any freeway noise at night. The staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient. We used this hotel as a starting and ending place for our visit to San Francisco because it's a good deal especially compared with staying in the city!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetroFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, Manager at BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you immensely that you choose to stay with us and happy to know your stay was comfortable. We would love another opportunity to serve and look forward to your next visit soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    317
    96
    43
    22
See reviews for
241
171
50
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed at the Best Western in San Mateo for one night. I flew into San Jose but wanted to stay closer to San Francisco to optimise my time there, didn't want to spend a day in traffic or commuting. Checked in late on a Thursday night with no issues. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was fairly decent too, the sausages and eggs were warm and the staff kept everything well stocked. There is no restaurants close to the hotel, so if you want something easy you will have to order pizza. Parking is free which is a definite bonus in California. Overall, I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, Manager at BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write. We greatly appreciate it. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is sitting directly on highway 101, therefore a good location to go to downtown SF (20 minutes). The noise barrier ends about 10 yards short of the hotel. All other hotels in the same street are protected form the noise, this one isn't. We were staying in two rooms for three nights which probably would have made us comparatively longer staying guests. Therefore it wasn't very considerate and not very nice of the reception clerk to place us in the two rooms closest to the highway. You needed earplugs at night. With rain during the night the water was dripping from the gutter adding to the noise.
Everything else was of high quality, the room and bathroom itself and the friendliness of the personnel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerthaBSCBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, Manager at BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write. We greatly appreciate your compliments, and delighted! I am very sorry that you felt excessive noise from Freeway and we could not move you to a room away from the freeway because hotel being on a sold out status. Majority of our guest don't feel the nose because of sound brier wall along the Freeway. I hope you will visit us again. We will make sure you are accommodated farthest room in the building. I am very sorry for any inconvenience. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The nearest restaurant is a 10-minute drive away.

This is a nice 2.5-star motel in a very inconvenient location.

Steve McEvoy

Room Tip: Have automobile available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

How did this hotel receive a 3.5 star rating on hotwire.com? It is 2.5 stars at best. The only thing it had going for it was cleanliness. Sheets were cheap, pillows were horrible, walls were incredibly thin (I could hear the conversation next door word for word, and god bless the poor souls who had to listen to me coughing at 4am), furnishings were meh, and location next to the freeway was noisy.

Asked if I could switch to a non-handicapped room but was told that because I purchased a room through a third party, I was given whatever was available at the time. There were plenty of vacant rooms at the hotel, so this sort of dismissive answer is discouraging. I travel almost weekly, book largely through third party websites, and have found that most hotels are happy to accommodate my requests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clementyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Easy access to freeway and town. I'm babysitting my year-old grandson and this is a great base and oasis for us. I took a star away because the neighborhood is a bit dodgy and no restaurants within walking distance. The golf course next door is lovely and Coyote Point recreation area is close. But you do need a car. I would stay here again even though the breakfast is standard- nothing special. The rooms are terrific, clean and plenty of room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, Manager at BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcome you soon.....Best egards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just spent 7 nights at this hotel with a small group. Little to no hot water for showers. The "full hot breakfast" was nothing more that the usual continental breakfast with a waffle maker and - sit down for this--3 days in a row of hard boiled eggs. The front desk assured me the following 2 days would feature omelets. Well- let's call it a rolled egg. Nothing inside. When asked, I was politely told that no fillings would be made available- I could go get my own cheese/onion/bacon...

Normally not a concern, but the group I was with was paying for a full, hot breakfast and hot water- these were not provided.

On a positive note, the hotel is kept very clean. The only area lacking is he hot tub. Foamy, filmed water is a sure sign that water needs replacing and/or bettter attention to chemistry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhchjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
2.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#3 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
3.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Address: 480 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1236 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, safe and affordable accommodation near San Francisco airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Coyote Point Hotel San Mateo
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing