We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramen Dojo

Ramen Dojo
Ranked #40 of 405 Restaurants in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Real Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Make this place a destination if you're ever in the San Fran area. You will enjoy the most exquisite bowl of ramen in your life. All the hype is true!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
499 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Crazy lines; delish ramen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We ventured here on a weekday for lunch on our way back to the city, thinking there wouldn't be a line...ha. We waited 20 mins, which wasn't too bad, but really...a random ramen place in San Mateo with a line? tThat's ramen dojo for you

Evidently, the Spicy Garlic Pork broth is the way to go, so that's what we all ordered, with variations on the spiciness of the broth. Regular spicy wasn't quite spicy enough for me but the broth was delicious. The texture of the ramen was awesome too. The toppings were OK; could have been better or have had more variety ala carte, but really, the broth and noodles were outstanding.

If only it wasn't out in San Mateo! or had such long lines on the weekends!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Ramen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We finally ate there after a long 40 minutes queue but it was worth it. The ramen was great and the size was big. Try the pork ramen with extra garlic. I will surely come back and bring my family there when we visit US again next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globaltrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
843 reviews
650 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Great Ramen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Get there at 11:30; only 24 seats
Lunch turns over three times
Great ramen; 3 flavors: soy bean, pork, soy
Different levels of spiciness
Tea, soft drinks, Japanese beer
Efficient food service

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Spicy version of "Santa Ramen"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is the old location of busy local ramen shop "Santa." The owner Mr. Kobayashi decided to continue Ramen shop here but changed some arrangements, spicier ramen noodles. As a result it attracted lots of Santa ramen fans and making long line every lunch/dinner time. But considering the difference between this Dojo, original Santa and/or Ramen Parlor (the 3rd Santa), I personally don't think it worth waiting for 30-40 minutes. I will rather go Ramen Parlor where a minute away from Dojo, or 3 minutes drive for original Santa where several times larger capacity.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank koba-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramen Dojo also viewed

 
San Mateo, CA
San Mateo, CA
 

Been to Ramen Dojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing