We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curry Up Now

Curry Up Now
Ranked #18 of 405 Restaurants in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Owned by local duo, Akash and Rana Kapoor, Curry Up Now was inspired by street food popular in India and other parts of the world. Akash and Rana started Curry Up Now as the Bay Area's very first Indian Street Food truck and have now expanded to five food trucks, four brick & mortar restaurants and two craft cocktail bars named Mortar & Pestle. Items on the menu include the iconic Chicken Tikka Masala Burrito, Deconstructed Samosa, Naughty Naan and Sexy Fries, plus there's an extensive list of gluten free and vegan options. Feeling like a night cap? Head to Mortar & Pestle Bar with friends for handcrafted cocktails, using housemade syrups, or try one of the locally crafted brews on tap.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fast and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I came here on the recommendation of others. It's located in downtown San Mateo, among a large number of restaurants, bars, and shops. The food is served in a straightforward fashion and I was pleasantly surprised. The portions are moderately sized and fairly priced. I had the Thali dinner plate with chicken tikki masala and saag paneer. If you want a quick, inexpensive meal that won't leave you feeling like you're in a food coma but fills you up in a solid way, this place fits the bill.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckshotLaFonque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just the right size portions and spice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The two of us are getting up there in age, and eat less these days, so we shared the lamb sexy fries and lamb naan. The Sexy Fries w/lamb was amazing, the naan dish was OK. We found parking around the corner easily, and the only warning I would add is that if you order coffee, specify black as it comes with milk and sugar by default. It is in a cute area full of restaurants; we had picked it out from reviews as we wanted Indian food without a buffet. We definitely would go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
“Super Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The most amazing version of Indian street food! The perfect blend of ingredients, spices and chutneys satisfy my taste buds completely. Good number of options for a vegetarian like me. The Bun Aaloo Tikki with chicken is a hot favorite with my non vegetarian wife. Paneer tikka burrito is a fixed item on our list every time for both of us :) Sexy fries is also worth a try.

The ambience is normal but what catches your eye is the creative menu displayed on a big wall. The service is pretty good. The only exception was when I had to wait 20 min extra for a to-go parcel.

Its hard to say a no to this place....even if it is 3 days in a row ;)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jatin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a pre movie dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been going here since they opened and love it. The deconstructed samosa w chicken and the thali dinners are our favorites, but it is all good. Our kids love the rice bowls with chicken and raita. We like going here before a movie because we can get a great, quick meal, see a film and get home without having a sky high babysitting bill.

Helpful?
Thank LCD425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ultimate Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love this place. The Indian street food you can get here is simply amazing. From vadapav to thali this place has delicious Indian food that you can never get bored with. Going to this place every week since a year now. The staff is very friendly and the place is relatively clean and located in San Mateo downtown.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dharmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Up Now also viewed

 

Been to Curry Up Now? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing