We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem in San Mateo/Burlingame”
Review of Hot Wok Bistro

Hot Wok Bistro
Order Online
Ranked #22 of 462 Restaurants in San Mateo
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 12, 2018

Tucked away in a residential area on the border of San Mateo and Burlingame is this wonderful Chinese restaurant. Never fails to disappoint. Their orange sesame chicken and beef stew are their specialties. Worth a stop and right off the 101.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Kamaina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2018

We met family here who was staying near SFO. It's easy location close to 101. Street parking only. We made a reservation for Sunday night at 5 which was good as the restaurant was very crowded. The menu is an interesting format. Meat/fish is listed, then several preparations are listed so you can mix and match. Several appetizers are available. We thought the pot stickers were rather bland and doughy. Service was excellent. Good place for families with kids.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NapiliR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Had Dinner on Wednesday Night,
After a long day of flying ordered a pot of tea and order of pot stickers and chicken with green beans and brown rice.
Pot stickers were under cooked and doughy and chicken was dry and chewy
Said something to the lady and she didn’t do anything about it so I don’t recommend this restaurant! Try using fresh ingredients!!

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank lblack5219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

I have been eating lunch at Hot Wok Bistro for over 10 years. Their sister restaurant, Hot Wok Bistro Too in San Carlos is also excellent. The family that owns these restaurants is extremely friendly and service oriented, but most importantly, their food is delicious, healthy, and inexpensive!

Lunch specials come with delicious hot and sour soup and steamed or fried rice. I usually get black bean shrimp or fish, vegetable stir-fry, or kung pao chicken. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arbrebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant has high reviews so we wanted to try something different than our usual which was Lai Lai in Millbrae.
The food was better quality but only one thing, too salty. Everything we had, broccoli beef, chow main, shrimp, won ton soup, excellent. For next time a much lesser salt, other than that it was great!!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Mauro1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Wok Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Hot Wok Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing