We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed, very helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband, niece and I stayed here in for two nights in August 2012. We arrived at about 9:00 at night. It can be a little tricky finding it in the evening. There are office/commercial buildings all around it. On the plus side, there is plenty of parking.

Once I checked in, the gentleman at the front desk (Eric), showed me a map to our room and suggested the location where to park. I hopped back into the car and directed my husband to park around the corner as Eric told us. Once we parked, Eric came right up and explained that he misdirected us as to the room location. He apologized and asked us to follow him to a closer parking area. We did and he even helped us carry a few bags to our room. I've never had a front lobby clerk go the extra mile like that.

We stayed in a King suite with sofa bed. It was convenient to have the kitchenette with full-sized fridge. We were in the area for an event at the fairgrounds, so it was nice to keep all of our drinks/snacks in the fridge before packing them up in the cooler each day. We didn't use the stove during our stay, but we used the utensils and cups.

The sofa bed was a twin sized pull out. My niece said the springs were a bit uncomfortable. We asked for another blanket for her and she put that down on the mattress.

Our king bed was great. The mattress was nice and firm and they had tons of pillows! Some pillows were soft, some were firm. I wish more hotels would do that so you can pick which ones are the most comfortable for your head. The shower was very nice. Great water pressure and the curtain rod was a curved one so you don't feel cramped. Keep in mind that this is an extended stay hotel, which caters to longer visits. There is no housekeeping service unless you stay for a full week. You can always ask for towels, toilet paper, etc. at the front desk, though. They even had a toothbrush/paste for my niece who had forgotten hers.

They have coffee/tea, oatmeal, packaged pastries and fruit in the lobby in the morning.

Although it's all office space immediately around the hotel, it is a very short distance to shopping and restaurants. On the other side of the freeway (Hwy 92), there is a Target, Marshall's, Mimi's Cafe, BJ's Restaurant, Red Robin and other stores right there. It's a three minute drive from the hotel.

This was a comfortable stay and we will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sactosally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such a wonderful review about your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other brand location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Staff are one of the greatest at this location being very courteous, professional and very helpful. As a family the hotel was amazing for all of us. We met different staff members throughout our stay who really shared a lot of tips about the area. Our next visit will be at this location for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarimSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Karim - It is so rewarding to hear that you and your family truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The staff and I get great pleasure reading the accolades you posted about us and look forward to providing the same service to all of our guests.

Having you join us at our hotel again in the near future would be absolutely wonderful. Once again, thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Couldn't be happier! Big change since the last time I visited. Really enjoyed the breakfast and the staff were so helpful! The location was great next to highway 92 and 101 and has grocery stores and restaurants nearby. Will definitely be back next time for work.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the biggest king room - so much space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Ron - Thank you for your glowing review about your stay at our hotel. The staff and I are dedicated to ensuring 100% guest satisfaction. It is incredibly rewarding to know that we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them too.

We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you travel to our area on business or for personal reasons. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I've gotten used to the indifferent way most hotels treat their guests nowadays, but this one was suprisingly different. The hotel looks amazing inside and out since the renovations. I love the little extra touch of the water filters in every room. The staff, though obviously a little new, were very polite and friendly. Especially the Manager, Sandra, who was extremely personable and made me feel like a person not just another guest. Definantely going to use them again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaFoxx408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO and recognition of Sandra. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank rivergrebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vielmobianchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ts6920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
2.8 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
2.7 mi away
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

Address: 1830 Gateway Dr, San Mateo, CA 94404-2467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range: $125 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead San Mateo
Homestead Suites San Mateo
San Mateo Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing