We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch but pricy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Coppa - CLOSED

Osteria Coppa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenue
Transit: Near San Mateo Train stop.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice lunch but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Had a nice lunch. The small plates are very nice. But spent $60.for lunch with no drinks - too much for lunch.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyboyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    32
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Innovative and busy neighborhood Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Packed on a weeknight, the service was nonetheless terrific - attentive without being cloying. An unusually good, if small, selection of wines with emphasis on Italian. Artisanal pizzas with emphasis (as menu as a whole) on local ingredients. (I had a "stinging nettles" pizza with Meyer lemon (!). It worked.)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived around 6 pm and decided to have cocktails before sitting down to dinner. The hostesses were very accommodating. Turns out that the bar has happy hour 5-7 so we ordered the second drink at the bar before moving into the dining room. We ordered the Salumi platter -- house cured -- for appetizers, which was excellent. For Primi, we had the tagliatelle bolognese, perfectly al dente with flavorful bolognese simmered with cream. For Secondi, we picked the pork spezzatino with polenta and mustard greens. Heavenly morsels of tender pork, so tender it could have been veal. The polenta and mustard greens perfectly complimented the meat. Yum. Service was impeccable too. Very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maya002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant On SF Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Osteria Coppa makes the best pasta plates I've tasted in the Bay Area for a number of years. They change the menu periodically to take advantage of what is fresh, what is popular & what the chefs think will be good. The restaurant has a nice informal, neighborly atmosphere and the wait-staff is generally very knowledgeable about the menu & friendly. Its informal atmosphere notwithstanding, make no mistake, Osteria Coppa is producing first-class cuisine. In addition to the pasta dishes, I would also recommend the fritto misto and salami assortment appetizers. The wine list features a good very reasonably priced selection of Italian wines. It has become the most popular restaurant in the San Mateo area so I would recommend reservations.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghsfcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
339 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Excellent Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a casual neighborhood italian restaurant with a full bar, tv's, hardwood floors, no tablecloths and a fun atmosphere. We were there on a Monday evening and it was pretty busy. Our waitress was prompt, friendly and helpful with wine and the menu. The menu is not extensive but what is great is that it is a farm to table restaurant and they make all their pasta noodles. We ordered 3 things to share. 1) Caesar salad ~ excellent $9 and enough for two. Dressing amount was good with lots of good parm cheese on the top. 2nd course) Tagliolini Bolognese ~ fabulous, just like you were in Italy. I wish I had ordered this for myself instead of sharing! 3rd course) Margarita pizza - what a disappointment. We should have sent it back.....too much heavy red sauce, cheese was not melted, crust barely cooked. It was the worst pizza I had in ages. Maybe something was off because we heard they had great pies.
Wine prices were reasonable and when the mgr brought the bottle over my husband told him it was my birthday. He said he would send over a nice dessert but he didn't.
We would return for salad and pasta!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MKtravelers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Coppa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing