We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the beef and BBQ! Salad bar disappointed...”

Espetus Churrascaria
Ranked #11 of 462 Restaurants in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 7th and 8th
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

We had a get together dinner.... we were high school classmates with our spouses gathering decades after graduating from our local high school...
Espetus Churrascaria seemed to be a perfect choice... the various cuts of meats were very good. Having been to Fogo de Chau in San Jose several times in the past few months, I can say that the meats at Espetus were better marinated which resulted in offerings with nicer flavors... unfortunately, the salad bar fell somewhat short on the evening that we had reserved our table. The prosciutto and salami were excellent, the dried tomatoes, marinated mushrooms and artichoke hearts were very good.... but aside from prepared salads (potato, bean or slaw), the traditional green salad with lettuce, tomatoes, palm and artichoke hearts, cucumbers, croutons etc. with a salad dressing that one expects when you think of a SALAD BAR did NOT exist. A big disappointment.
The restaurant was clean and the service was attentive.
Finally, their “free” WiFi did not work at all!!!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank lwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espetus_SF, General Manager at Espetus Churrascaria, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Thank you for choosing Espetus for your recent reunion. Though we do apologize for any WiFi issues, it's a pleasure to know everyone enjoyed their meals overall. We hope you'll decide to dine with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 137 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019

If you love beef, this is the place. It is pricey, but you know you are getting the very best in beef, as well as the very best in preparation.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espetus_SF, General Manager at Espetus Churrascaria, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Marian, we are glad you enjoy our food. Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

This was my first Brazilian steakhouse experience so I didn’t have anything to compare it to but man did it blow me out of the water. We went early afternoon on a Sunday and it was empty but later filled up.

The salad bar was delicious and had so many options. I literally could have just eaten that and been fine. But then the meat- wow! The garlic steak was our favorite! We also enjoyed their wine selection.

Service was great. Only complaint was one of the kids ordered a mango drink and it wasn’t that good. But that was the only negative!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank crystalcoast717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espetus_SF, General Manager at Espetus Churrascaria, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

We are happy you enjoyed your first steakhouse experience with us! Thank you for this great review. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Arrived early & given table next to large party. Saw our original server only once. Salad bar still great. Food guys still good. Requested a couple of items & was very slow getting. Tough parking and is expensive unless you are a big eater. Not sure if will return..

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dcs1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espetus_SF, General Manager at Espetus Churrascaria, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

We apologize for the slow service. We hope you enjoyed our food and will consider letting us show you a true 5-star experience on your next visit. Thank you for your time and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

I received an email from Espetus, saying please join us for your anniversary and a have a glass of wine on us.. well we did and it was a great evening, got there at 5, had a cocktail at the bar, I love their Brazilian Mojito. we were seated and from there the evening was nonstop food, from Filet Minion to Chicken hearts. they were all wonderfully cooked and perfectly seasoned. the wait staff was very tentative and asked if we had any special requests, the only thing I could think of was a second stomach for all the food. lol. would I recommend them YES, would I go back YES, will I take friends YES.. thank you Espetus for another wonderful Anniversary.. see you next year,

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Wander36503274668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espetus_SF, General Manager at Espetus Churrascaria, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Thank you so much for sharing your anniversary with us! It sounds as if you two had a truly memorable evening. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espetus Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Espetus Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing