We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing as Usual! Even the Salad Bar Option is worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espetus Churrascaria

Espetus Churrascaria
Ranked #11 of 405 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 7th and 8th
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing as Usual! Even the Salad Bar Option is worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Did you know that you can go here with Vegetarians too? It may be a meat lover's paradise, but the Salad bar is a meal option, at $20 less! The price is now up to about $55 per adult, but if you visit her once a year, it's worth it! Go early, to pace yourself and taste ALL the meats! You can ask for thicker cuts, specific pieces, etc., BE PICKY, you're worth it! Check out their website first, and good luck finding parking! (hence, go early!)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LarBearSSF-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brazilian Meat Gauchos = Meat, Meat, Meat!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Had heard about this place about a year ago and finally decided to try it when I received a gift card. We invited 2 people to join us so we were 4 people total. This is a Brazilian restaurant where the "Gaucho's" bring the meat on skewers to your table and slice off pieces for you. It is a fixed price for the dinner (high) and includes the salad bar, hot items bar (which changes daily) and of course the meat. They advertise 14 different types of meat, but we didn't see all 14 items. I myself am not a red meat eater so was a bit reserved going there. All the meat was so flavorable. I had the bacon wrapped chicken breast, parmasan crusted pork, the pork loin and shrimp. Everything I had was wonderful and really great flavor. The guys had the lamb, filet mignon, flank steak and their food was also good. The one complaint we had was that the meat servers didn't come around to the table that much. The restaurant was fairly crowded so we expected the meat guys to come around more with their selections but I think they sometimes ran out . We saw the ribs go by a couple of times, but they never made it to our table. We complained to the waitress and she said she was going to try and get them out to us. Well, that didn't happen. The food was good, but the price is high so unless you can really pack the food in (and get the opportunity with the servers), I don't know if you will feel that you have enough to make up for the price. We didn't feel we got enough for what we paid. Gave it an average rating due to value to price and amount of food we actually received. Tip: Try the pineapple. It was quite a surprise and nice sweet different item to have

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DNAZ_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome but Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Came here with family and friends (6 of us in total). Very cool ambience. The restaurant is mostly large tables, so even the management knows it's a restaurant for special occasions. The food is delectable (filet mignon, bacon wrapped chicken, chicken hearts were really good) and the service is top-notch. The price works out to about $55/head with 2 wine bottle corkages, 6 dinners (includes a huge salad bar with many vegetarian choices), pre-dinner drinks, and 4 desserts. Parking is a little tricky. All in all I'd go back, again, for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Whenever in the San Francisco area, I make a stop at Espetus. This is one of the most fun restaurants I have been to. I love meat, so coming to a restaurant with all you can eat meat is awesome! I would highly recommend this to someone looking for a nice meaty meal in the SFO area.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delta77L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can't stop eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a Brazilian Steakhouse. The food is great and has a lot of flavor. The servers come to your table with different types of meat; pork, chicken, prawns, beef and grilled pineapple - which is really good. You can eat as much as you want, and the servers come to your table as long as you want. They have a huge salatbar with vegetables, fruit, salat, rice and bread. You will not leave this place hungry!
The service is good, and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vero465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espetus Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Espetus Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing