We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and romantic”

Clos LaChance Winery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Clos LaChance Winery is open to the public for wine tasting, tours, picnicking and bocce ball. The winery is a stunning Old-World-inspired facility located in San Martin, California, only 30 minutes South of San Jose and 45 minutes North of Monterey. Click here for a map and directions to Clos LaChance. Clos LaChance’s Tasting Room welcomes visitors daily, showcasing a wonderful selection of wines and breathtaking views of 100 acres of vineyards and surrounding landscape. Wine geek or newbie, Clos LaChance’s knowledgeable Tasting Room Associates are trained to guide all guests through the magic of making and enjoying wine.
San Martin, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing and romantic”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Beautiful location and building, great for tastings, picnics and WEDDINGS!
Fabulous summer Thursday night concerts on the lawn, however get there EARLY!!
I do agree that some of the staff has been unfriendly in the past, hopefully that has been rectified.
The majority of the staff is very fun and accommodating.
Enjoy your day tasting and relaxing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Glad that we've been there”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our friend from Gilroy which is a club member brought us to Clos Lachance - We were happy because we do have some of their production back home but only in private imports .As a member , he is allowed to bring some guests for free so we had the opportunity to have free tasting. It was not too crowded - it was 4h00pm on a Friday afternoon . We particularly enjoyed their Joli Meritage ( we brought back a bottle) - and one their chardonnay which I can't remember the name but it is around $28.00 and not listed on their current website list . There is a nice terrace with great view on the vines. Our friend said that there is monthly event and they really enjoyed it . Staff was very nice and friendly .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Praline23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice location - unfriendly staff”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just left after making it thru only half a tasting. The place was not busy, but server John was more interested in selling a case of wine to the couple next to us. After 10 min, and the wine we tasted not being that great - we left. A beautiful view, but don't waste your time on the tasting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really fun & beautiful”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The winery is on the property and added something unique to the trip. The wine wasn't the best but they let you bring your own food if you like. We took a picnic lunch and had an amazing time tasting wines and enjoying the absolutely breathtaking views of the property.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanH560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The new paradigm?”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clos La Chance is the opposite end of the spectrum from Lightheart Cellars, also in San Martin. It is perhaps the new paradigm for Santa Clara Valley Wineries of moderate size.

They have it all--music, weddings, picnics; parties, wine club, slick/sleek tasting room with scrubbed, friendly, and mostly efficient tasting room associates. It's a very comfortable place to meet a few friends for a pleasant day outside eating and drinking, and watching the golfers putt out at the hole of CordeValle Golf Club that abuts the tasting area. They also manage all the vines planted in the estates surrounding Corde-Valle. They bottle estate fruit and purchased fruit. The wines range from very good to excellent; most are fairly priced, some a bit overpriced. The last couple of years they've had sales to wine club members to make room for the new vintage--excellent wines for $5.00-$15.00/bottle! You can't go wrong. With the huge crop in 2012, they will probably have another this year, unless they've expanded their storage capacity.

For a great day, tee it up early at CordeValle, visit Clos La Chance and Lightheart Cellars, then have dinner at Odeum in nearby Morgan Hill. It doesn't get any better than that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clos LaChance Winery also viewed

 

Been to Clos LaChance Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing