We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquillity and beauty in the middle of cosmopolitan California” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens

The Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A popular tourist stop, this 207 acre complex houses a library, art collection and stunning gardens. The library and art gallery contain rare books and one of the most complete collections of 18th century art outside of London.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquillity and beauty in the middle of cosmopolitan California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Huntington, as it's called in CA, is truly an amazing destination. It WILL take more than a few hours to see most of it as you'll become lost in the beauty wherever you start. The main house holds a nearly unparalleled art collection, Pinkie and Blue Boy reside there, as well as many Reynolds and Romeny paintings. Pick up your FREE audio works to tour.

The restaurant on site is small and quite good; mainly sandwiches, but freshly done to order.

The gardens are arranged by themes such as Japanese and Chinese, rose garden, etc. Amazingly, in early November (2012) many flowering plants were in bloom although usually passed their time (Azaleas, roses, lilies, Paperwhites). There are courtesy trams for those needing a break from the lovely pathways. The drivers are quite knowledgeable as are the docents.

This location is San Marino, also known as south Pasadena of Rose Parade fame, and is dead center in the middle of residential properties....rather like stumbling on a diamond while strolling through the middle of town! Ample parking is available.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,436
    224
    28
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful place and must see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

There's an entrance fee of $20.oo but it's more than worth it:) This place will simply blow your mind away. For the ladies who loves to wear heels, I recommend to opt for walking shoes because it's a huge place and you don't want to miss a thing. There is a vast array of interesting plants , you will love the Chinese garden as well as the Japanese with it's little cafe, the grandeur of the green fields and a view of the nearby mountains.. Pack a little lunch, bring your camera of course.. Visit the museum as well and you will be amazed of the treasures in that place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank alincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful gardens, very nice museums, loved all the displays. The dessert gardens is one of the largest and most varied displays.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betita60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing places I've had the privilege to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently had the opportunity to visit The Huntingdon. What a jewel -- it completely blew me away. I had been to The Getty 3 times previously, but on this trip, a friend recommended this as another option. Here's the key difference in the way that I would describe the Huntingdon collections vs. the Getty: The Getty is an investment collection and the Huntingdon is a collection of love. Although both are incredible, the feeling between the two is totally different. The Huntingdon gardens are beautiful and expansive, yet personal. The newly-reopened Japanese garden was sublime. The books and documents are amazing -- the copy of the 13th amendement to the Constitution -- the newly-acquired ciphered telegrams from Lincoln during the Civil War, the Gutenberg Bible, documents surrounding Galileo's theories, unbelieveable. The artworks are varied and interesting, and I really enjoyed seeing Remington's Bronco Buster sculpture. I could have spent days there. I was absolutely be returning.

The only thing I could think of to improve the experience would be to improve the map of the complex. But getting lost was a good way to see move of this amazing place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank laminpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Allow an entire day - there's so much to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've been to the Huntington twice, and still haven't seen everything, so another visit is on the list for when I'm next in LA. The gardens are beautiful, and with such a range of plants and areas there's something for every season. I particularly liked the new Chinese garden.
The range of books in the library is spectacular, and the art and furniture collections wide-ranging and extremely well displayed. There's the unexpected too - this time I happened upon the Huntington's collection of early light bulbs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing