We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchill's Pub and Grille

Churchill's Pub and Grille
Ranked #30 of 234 Restaurants in San Marcos
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My Husband and I met after work for my birthday dinner, we had never been but heard the fish and chips were to dye for...Well they did meet up to my expectations and I have to admit they were very good. We shared and appetizer (never again, Too Much Food) and then dinner. Of course being our first time we had no idea of the portions and were stuffed after the app. I really enjoyed dinner it was a great experienc. The Beer selection is large and quite the variety to choose from. The service was good, the waitress even found the basketball game we wanted to watch on the TV for us. Great Time

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips with a Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a fun place to hang out with a friend or date and drink a beer. The Fish and Chips are pretty good and I like most of the menu. Service can be slow but they are friendly. My girlfriend tried to play pool and that was fun to watch

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDLightpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I went to this English style pub restaurant on the recommendation of an Irish businessman we had met. We were not disappointed. My husband enjoyed the vast selection of beers. We both enjoyed the fish and chips. The fish was fresh and lightly battered. My husband could have eaten more fries. Portion was a bit small for a man but fine for me. We were able to order a side of gravy to dip our fries in, a rarity in California. Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShantyOhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service, amazing beer menu and very good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We chose Churchill's for family dinner night this week. Great time! I'm a big fan of pub food, and they don't disappoint. Between us we tried the bangers & mash, cottage pie, Cornish pasty and fish & chips. Few of us were able to finish the large portions, and everyone was very happy with their choice.

More than any other one thing, the service stood out as near perfect. We were the only people on one side of the house at first, which sometimes means being forgotten, but not here. Even the greeter had no problem that half our party was late arriving - they seated me while the rest waited.

The only thing they could do to really improve is the parking. The side lot is really tight, and my sister-in-law was virtually blocked in. Granted, the restaurant can't do a lot about it, but it's only thing I'd change if I had a magic wand.

Churchill's is definitely going into our regular dinner night rotation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Hang Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Love coming here for a beer after work, play some darts, watch some sports. Fun place to watch major sporting events. Also a good place to sit and read and have a pint in the afternoon. Great fire pit area on the back patio. Drinks are pricey but food is GOOD and reasonable. Great beers on tap, nice people to chat too. Not tons of parking get there early!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank cmdevenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill's Pub and Grille also viewed

 

Been to Churchill's Pub and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing