We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have never stayed here before but the staff was very courteous and responsive to our needs. As many of you know hotels in Southern CA can be expensive for what you get. This was a clean, convenient hotel at a reasonable CA price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank arasaysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    130
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
187
72
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Clean, comfortable and convenient for seeing the San Marcos, Escondido area. Beds were a little soft but if you like them that way... Breakfast was more than adequate. Fitness room did not have stationary bikes, only ellipticals. Staff was very helpful when asked to provide directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location and facilities at this Hampton Inn was perfect for my stay. I arrived at Midnight and the front desk was ready to help. I enjoyed the continental breakfast and the environment was quiet and refreshing. I like that they were Military Friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is our 4th stay and we think of it as a second home when we visit our daughter who attends CSU-SM. The 3rd floor is our favorite, even number rooms, and great waffles for breakfast. The hot tub is delightful, wish it were open longer hours though. Front desk staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank hawk4sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennett square, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a group attending a wedding at a local venue. the hotel was perfect. Great price, clean rooms, friendly staff, and a lobby perfect for gathering and hanging out. the liquor store next store was convenient, too! Also, the location is perfect for taking an easy ride to the coast. less than a half hour if you want to explore San Diego and/or Carlsbad areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 751williama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I regularly stay at Hampton Inns. The property in San Marcos is badly in need of a renovation and thorough cleaning. Staff was helpful, courteous and professional. I don't know if I would stay here again due to the lack of cleanliness of my room and the general older condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansmhx, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Marcos, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Anne,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.

Best Regards,

David Chang
General Manager
david.chang@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morongo Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We liked staying at this hotel very much. Quiet, clean, breakfast was ample to get your day started. Liked the fact they wash your duvets daily. Food places nearby. Hotel is easy to get to off freeway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank lr0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
3.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Property: Hampton Inn San Marcos
Address: 123 E Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078-4309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing