We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FELL BELOW EXPECTATIONS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
PHOENIX, United States
2 reviews
“FELL BELOW EXPECTATIONS”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Carpets throughout the hotel were dirty and needed to be thoroughly cleaned and vacuumed. No imagination in type of food and preparation of hot breakfast, same food every other day. Elevators were noisy and rough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    130
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
187
72
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at the Hampton. The room was immaculate as well as very comfortable. Location was easy to find. Aside from one, rather rude employee, our experience was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great value for the business or leisure traveler. High definition TV, refrigerator, microwave, and free internet. What else could you ask for? Good location with easy access and close to lots of stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank clmartinez100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel. The only area of disappointment was the fact that we were not told of the private shuttle service from the San Diego to the hotel. We contacted the hotel prior to our arrival and were told that the best way to get to the hotel was via cab. This was very expensive. In excess of $100.00 from the San Diego airport to the hotel. We took the private shuttle service back to the airport and it cost half the price of taking a cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank lebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stay at the Hampton Inn each August for the Stone Brewing Anniversary party at UC San Marcos campus as this hotel is walking (ok, staggering) distance from the party. They have comfortable beds with great bulky comforters, comfortable AC, clean rooms, and the hotel is relatively quiet, even on such a big party weekend!! The pool is nice, and the breakfast is pretty good with great coffee. We botched up our reservation this year and mistakenly booked the Hampton Inn in San Marcos Texas. When we showed up to check in and realized our mistake, we were sure we were going to be scrambling to find another place for such a busy weekend, but General Manager David hooked us up with a room set aside for emergencies. We were so grateful as we really like this location and hotel. David even took care of calling the other Hampton to cancel our reservation there with no penalty. Great service!! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on our recent family vacation to San Diego. This hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and there was never any noise. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Free parking, and free breakfast. The pool area was beautiful & always clean. The front desk staff was very helpful & friendly. It was my first time here, I used to stay at the Residence Inn, but they are not nearly as good after the GM Steve left. A few weeks ago I stayed at
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort and absolutely love but they were sold out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is very good located and rooms are clean and well maintained. Breakfast is excellent with several options to select. However the rate per night was quite high comparing with similar hotels in the zone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Noe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
3.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Property: Hampton Inn San Marcos
Address: 123 E Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078-4309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing