We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Customer service sucks”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked online for the san marcos in texas and pre-paid but it reserved it for the san marcos california, they would not refund our money nor transfer the money to the correct location so we had to pay again for the one in texas.We would not have paid again but since we were attending a graduation it was the only one available with a room left. The customer service reps were very rude and not interested in helping us at all to resolve the issue. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: I would not pre-pay even for a discount because we could not get a refund because of this.Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansmhx, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Marcos, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of your experience. We sincerely apologize for the booking issue you had and the level of service with which it was handled. I am surprised to hear that the person you spoke to, whether our staff here, the staff at San Marcos TX, or the staff at Advance Purchase Department was not interested in helping you resolve your issue. We do realize that our guests make honest mistake between our Hampton Inn here in San Marcos, CA and the location in San Marcos, TX. We will be reaching out to you shortly to resolve this with you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    134
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
191
73
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed two nights - hotel was located right next to freeway (not noisy at all) and plenty of spots to eat at. Rooms were very clean and not too small. Room Carpet/bathroom seem clean but worn. Front desk staff was very helpful and we were very pleased to check in early. Breakfast was included and was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilizmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had the most pleasant stay at this Hampton Inn. The hotel was spotless. There was plenty of bathroom counter space, electrical sockets and a comfortable bed. The air conditioner was effective but a bit loud whenever the thermostat kicked in. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate were available all day. Breakfast was included and had choices for everyone: eggs, bacon or sausage, fruit, yogurt, and several breads and cereals. There was no view from any room in the hotel, as one might expect. There was a post-it note on the headboard of the bed from the maid when we arrived stating that the duvet cover had been changed before our arrival. This was unusual but reassuring. Most of all, the entire staff was friendly and helpful. At night the desk attendant actually made tea for me with hotter water that he retrieved from the kitchen! I stayed at several other (more "luxurious") hotels on this trip, but my husband kept commenting on how comfortable we had been at this Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a nice, clean place to stay! The Hampton rooms were so comfortable and relaxing. Mattress was super comfortable. I have stayed there before but it seemed to have been upgraded. They also offer a breakfast. Great if you are getting the most value for your dollar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcsdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUN CITY WEST, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Old California Restaurant Row of San Marcos gives every visitor the opportunity to have any type of meal...all are nearby this Hampton Inn. The staff at the Hampton Inn were very friendly and helpful. The full 24-hour coffee bar in the lobby was a real treat. Additionally, the hot breakfast was terrific with many choices to please any one. The rooms were immaculate. I do wish they had a small fridge/microwave as they come in handy when bringing left overs from the restaurant...as their portions were so large. We managed with an ice chest however. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice place. Was in the area for a 1pm wedding and needed a place to stay. The wedding party had blocked 10 rooms, I went ahead and claimed one for my wife and I. I had never stayed in a Hampton Inn before and was a bit skeptical, but I sure was wrong. Nice place, the room was clean and the Breakfast was great. Beings that the wedding was at 1pm, I called and asked if we could get into the room early to "freshen up" before the wedding and they were happy to accommodate us. Great Place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dburrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, arizona
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at this property July 19-22, 2012, 2 queen room on 3rd floor. Directly off the California 78. Check in and check out was speedy and efficient. Customer service was excellent. The property looked safe and well maintained. The room was average motel size but enough for 4 people to move around. The room was updated with a flatscreen tv and very comfortable beds. The room was perfectly cleaned. The bathroom was a bit small with vanity and toilet in same room with shower/tub. The only thing that was an inconvenience is that the bathroom is directly next to the door. The bathroom door has to be shut to go in or out of the room. There is no venting in the bathroom at all. So after 4 showers it gets extremely hot in the bathroom. You have to brace the door all the way open to get any air circulation. No microwave or small refrigerator. The pool and hot tub were ok. The walls were not paper thin but you could hear people in the hallways for sure. The breakfast was good. Waffle maker, cereals, oatmeal, fruit, scrambled eggs, etc. This break room was always cleaned and stocked. There is no restaurants/fast foods within walking distance. You will need a car to get around this area and definitely to Legoland. It was about a 15 minute drive. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind driving the 15 minutes to Legoland this is a good place to stay that I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azdisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
3.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Property: Hampton Inn San Marcos
Address: 123 E Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078-4309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing