We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
221
80
27
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
80
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskfull kitcheneasy freeway accessevening receptionyogurtfree breakfastminute drivewould stay againbusiness tripdishwasherbilliardsweddinglegolandinnsescondidohousekeepingkitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 346 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017

Affordable rate, good facility in the room, complementary break fast is rich and good location for guests who have activities in north part of San Diego. To those point, I could rate higher.
But furnitures were old and dirty, one of two elevators were out of order during our stay for five days. Also the side exit was out of order for card key entrance which made me to go all ways around though reception for the parking access. Even worse, we didn't have room cleanup at the fist day. I appreciated very much to the receptionist who took my call for that and brought us replacements and refills of towels, papers, soaps and coffees immediately. The setup of the hotel is very nice, but the maintenance of facility and training of employees looked poor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Koncha108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I certainly apologize that everything was not how we expect your stay to be. I will bring tis up with my team to make certain that this is an isolated incident going forward. We all look forward to our upcoming renovation in December, and we hope to see you back so you may experience the difference.
Sincerely,
Toby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

This hotel has definitely slowly deteriorated since it's opening.
We stayed for one week early August, which was our third yearly visit, but we will not return.
As always the noise from the road is constant, i know this is unavoidable due to the property location, but it's made worse by the fact a Harley Davidson shop is around the corner, so very loud bikes are always around.
We had constant problems with the room keys, which were not working for access to anywhere within the building!
The daily housekeeping is very poor, i don't think the bathroom floor was even swept.
Breakfast food quality is also poor - the worst scrambled eggs ever - think they are baked in the oven! The food is not replenished enough (it would appear this hotel is trying to cut back!) no matter what time we went fro breakfast, almost every option was gone & not replenished unless someone brought it to the attention of staff.
One particular breakfast attendant made several hints for tips & several remarks about getting the food before it's gone - counting down the time until breakfast was finished. Highly unprofessional.
A shame a nice hotel has gone down hill so much.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yorksgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy L, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Yorksgina.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your observations and feedback allow us an opportunity to reflect on what we can do to better the experience for our guests. I apologize that we did not live up to yours - or certainly our own expectations.

We look forward to celebrating enhancements in the future; starting with our renovations in December. If your travels were to bring you back to San Marcos- we would be delighted to host you again.

Thank you,

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Off the beaten path and was looking forward to staying here. Always choose Marriott's(100 night this year). Staff was not very knowledgeable, the night food was weak and the wine was horrible. Breakfast started 30 minutes late, where there was a line waiting and for those needing to beat traffic and get on the road, that was a severe problem. The chair in the room looked 50 years old. Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hello Tom L,
I'm so sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We normally do not get theses type of comments. We look forward to our upcoming renovation towards the end of this year. I have not had a complaint before on the wine, and because this review is anonymous, I am unable to research when you stayed, what food was served, etc...
I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. I can be reached at (760)591-9828.
Sincerely,
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

The quality has really deteriorated lately. The following is a list of issues that caused us to move out after two nights: Room keys constantly having to be rekeyed. (Numerous guests shared this as well), sheets laundered in a perfume soap causing itching, electrical outlets not working, lights not working, utensils not sufficient (all tablespoons and no teaspoons), one of two elevators not working, sponges cut in half (obviously to save money), Furniture is in disrepair, television listings ie HBO not on the TV, handicapped hall buzzer broken and not repaired. WIFI is a joke. This is not the first time we have stayed here and are greatly disappointed. Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Dear Peter R,
We definitely have been having problems with our key system and are currently working with our vendor to get this fixed. We are looking forward to beginning a renovation starting on December 1st. I will also address the laundry soap with our vendor, which is a National Account providing laundry chemicals across the globe.
My maintenance staff will certainly address the issues that you list of electrical problems. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention in this particular suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights. Nice spot to get to many north San Diego spots. Clean and large rooms. Pool and events each evening. Can walk to a mall. And most importantly can walk to Rip Current brewery.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ShaunD926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Dear ShaunD926,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Residence Inn of San Marcos, Ca.
I so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to also take advantage of our location to the mall and Rip Current brewery, it is a good choice.
We hope to see you again in the near future..
Sincerely,
Toby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews