We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of variety!”
Review of Elephant Bar Restaurant - CLOSED

Elephant Bar Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Elephant Bar Restaurant is a scratch-kitchen specializing in globally-inspired dishes and traditional, American fare. Our food is all made from scratch using the best, locally-sourced ingredients available. All of our cocktails are made fresh when you order, handcrafted in-house by our mixologists. Brunch is offered on weekends 10am-2pm with brunch cocktails, patio dining, and delicious specialty brunch entrees. We've kept the same, great Elephant Bar Restaurant exclusives you've come to love...but made them better, using only made-from- scratch methods and high-quality ingredients. Better menu items, new craft cocktails, new wine list, and new brunch cocktails. We've completely evolved.We can't wait to see you soon!
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of variety!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Interesting menu, with a wide selection of choices. Some are a little pricey for the amount of food, but all of the food is excellent. It can be crowded at peak times, so be prepared to wait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    17
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Turn Down the volume”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This restaurant has a good menu and very good food; however, I don't recommend eating there during high volume meal times as everyone's voices are so loud that you can barely hear the person across from you at your own table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok, for corportate pub food”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went here before the movies because it was close, and we hadn't been to an Elephant Bar before. We did sign up for the frequent dining card, as we got a free app with it. They have a decent happy hour, we got the QUICK-FRIED SOY-GINGER CALAMARI, which was pretty good. I had the ribs for dinner, not great, but not bad either.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quincy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We go here often after square dancing. Pluses, the happy hour menu, good prices and good selection. Minuses, if you can't get into the bar, which tends to be a problem, then you have to pay full price. Also, the bar area is noisy. If you sit aside, there's smoking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch specials”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Never been here for dinner, but I often meet up with a friend here for lunch. Good selection for different tastes. Good value. My favorite is the chicken marsala. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing