We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Meatball

Mama's Meatball
Ranked #10 of 301 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nipomo St.
Description: Mama's Meatball offers authentic, homemade Italian dining & catering, Our chef cultivates and harvest most of the organic produce to be used in our menu from our garden's rich soil. The idea of a garden in the city is fascinating and it allows us to keep in constant contact with nature while providing with a true Farm-to-Table experience. Furthermore, we are committed to preserve the land and its resources by providing agricultural produce, fishery and cattle livestock that adhere to strict sustainability practices. All poultry, fish, beef, and pork are sourced locally and must be, free range, organic, non-hormone treated. Just as Chef Nicola wants to pay respect to the culinary history of Italy, he is solid in his commitment to respect our land and water, with conscious usage of the resources available
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Mama's Meatball is our choice for a delicious meal in a casual setting. The menu has a a nice variety of entrees including individual pizzas. Most of the ingredients used are fresh and locally sourced. If you are in a hurry, they also have take out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLOCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    66
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“DISORGANIZED - LACK OF PROCESS”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We found that the the staff was not welcoming nor experienced; and there seemed to be a lack of coordination/process between the kitchen and the food servers. We witnessed a frantic, "opening day" kind of evening; the service was very slow and inattentive. Numerous dishes were surprisingly unavailable (including the restaurant's signature salad dressing) and there was little flexibility regarding alternative food preparation. Although the entrees once served were hot in temperature, we found them to be tasteless, bland and pedestrian.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two nights of fabulous food from Italy with love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We found ourselves on Thanksgiving day wandering around on foot in downtown San Luis Obispo and we were approached by a cordial young man that was on his way to work. He asked if we were looking for a place to eat Thanksgiving dinner. We were in fact wondering where we were going to find a decent meal without on a holiday! His employer, "Mama's Meatball" (silly name) serves not so silly cuisine! We were intrigued with an opportunity to have TG dinner with an authentic Italian spin. $35 per person yielded an exquisite meal from start to finish. From the salad with fresh raspberries and a kiss of balsamic dressing, to the "fall-off-the bone" succulent turkey previously marinated in Italian herbs and then bathed in a delicious gravy, a perfectly cooked "bundle" of haricot verts, and an amazingly savory potato and beet mound. Oh, and a prune, apple & onion stuffing that was to die for. We started with a beautiful DOCG Prosecco, which was the perfect foil to the salad and had a bottle of locally produced un-oaked Chardonnay with the rest of the meal. The meal finally ended with a flourless chocolate torte for my husband and son, and the best "hands down" Panna Cotta that I have ever had. Perfectly sated, we left the restaurant with reservations for dinner the following night. That night we had a Frutti di Mare Risotto that was amazing, a wonderful Beef Bracciola, and a fabulous pasta dish. All I can say is that these guys are the real deal. Brothers from Southern Italy split the duties with a fabulous hand in the kitchen and a very charming maître d running the dining room. Their wait staff were great as well. Can't forget to mention the addicting garlic knots! Just couldn't of had a better experience. We ate meals that were comparable to the wonderful food we've had in Italy. I strongly recommend this small and charming restaurant that's tucked into the "Creamery".

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had to eat again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Was very disappointed, had lasagna and it was so small we headed to Mother's Tavern for an excellent burger and mac and cheese!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yayasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I were recommended this place when we stayed in SLO for the night and had a fantastic meal out - well worth seeking out, in spite of all the other great looking places to eat around. The food was absolutely fantastic and it seemed a popular spot for locals - always a good sign. The service was great too.

Overall, great quality for a night out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1985Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Meatball also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Mama's Meatball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing